Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

Message
Author
User avatar
WaltH
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 12:56 am

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#11 Post by WaltH »

Glad to hear it! I love Vivaldi.

User avatar
sunrat
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:54 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#12 Post by sunrat »

Curiously that works but also allowed me to watch a video on sbs.com.au without logging in, something I've always had to do in Firefox. :alien: :happy:

User avatar
handy
Posts: 611
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#13 Post by handy »

WaltH wrote: Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:49 am For what it's worth, going to this Vivaldi help page https://help.vivaldi.com/article/html5- ... -on-linux/ and copying and running the 64-bit command in the Other Linux section seems to have solved my problem in this area. BBC News and YouTube videos now work for me in Vivaldi.
Cool. That command you used from the vivaldi site, copied an even larger (later version I suppose) libffmpeg.so file onto my system than the one that PIA-VPN was using (& I've been using in the /opt/vivaldi/lib directory) into my ~/.local/vivaldi/lib directory.

This has to be THE solution, until vivaldi gets around to automating this & including it in the install process.

Well done! :number1:
1_MSI: MAG B560 TORP', i5, RAM 16GB, GTX 1070 Ti 12GB, M2 238GB + USB, MX-23 Fb to Openbox
2_Lenovo: Ideapad 520S, i5, RAM 8GB, GPU i620, HDD 1TB, MX-21 - Openbox
3_Clevo: P150SM-A, i7, RAM 16GB, nVidia 8600, 2x 1TB HDD & M.2 256 GB, MX-21 - Openbox

User avatar
colin_b
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:21 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#14 Post by colin_b »

I am curious as to whether this code could be modified to install libffmpeg.so into other Chromium based browsers.

If it could it would save a lot of headaches.

User avatar
sunrat
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:54 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#15 Post by sunrat »

colin_b wrote: Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:36 pm I am curious as to whether this code could be modified to install libffmpeg.so into other Chromium based browsers.
Sure it could. Why don't you try it? Just replace "~/.local/lib/vivaldi/" in the command with wherever the browser looks for libffmpeg.so

User avatar
colin_b
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:21 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#16 Post by colin_b »

sunrat wrote: Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:23 pm Sure it could. Why don't you try it? Just replace "~/.local/lib/vivaldi/" in the command with wherever the browser looks for libffmpeg.so
Since I've got Opera installed with non-functioning h.264 I gave it a try. I found a previous post which indicated where to put the file viewtopic.php?f=104&t=46040&hilit=libffmpeg.so#p458472, and replaced the Vivaldi location with the one for Opera.

The file downloaded but Opera still doesn't play h.264, so I'm assuming this location is incorrect.

Edit: This is the code I entered into the terminal:

Code: Select all

curl -Lr1078- vvld.in/lm64 | tar xJ -C ~ --wildcards \*libffmpeg\.so --xform 's,.*/,.usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/,'

User avatar
handy
Posts: 611
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#17 Post by handy »

colin_b wrote: Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:04 pm
sunrat wrote: Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:23 pm Sure it could. Why don't you try it? Just replace "~/.local/lib/vivaldi/" in the command with wherever the browser looks for libffmpeg.so
Since I've got Opera installed with non-functioning h.264 I gave it a try. I found a previous post which indicated where to put the file viewtopic.php?f=104&t=46040&hilit=libffmpeg.so#p458472, and replaced the Vivaldi location with the one for Opera.

The file downloaded but Opera still doesn't play h.264, so I'm assuming this location is incorrect.

Edit: This is the code I entered into the terminal:

Code: Select all

curl -Lr1078- vvld.in/lm64 | tar xJ -C ~ --wildcards \*libffmpeg\.so --xform 's,.*/,.usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/,'
You could try putting it in ~/.local/lib/opera/

Does opera store itself in /opt if so you could also try putting the file in there (if the $HOME/.local/... location doesn't work).

Vivaldi uses /opt/vivaldi/lib/libffmpeg.so as the default path/location for the file. But obviously, for Vivaldi (& for other applications also, settings in the $HOME/ directory take priority over any other.
1_MSI: MAG B560 TORP', i5, RAM 16GB, GTX 1070 Ti 12GB, M2 238GB + USB, MX-23 Fb to Openbox
2_Lenovo: Ideapad 520S, i5, RAM 8GB, GPU i620, HDD 1TB, MX-21 - Openbox
3_Clevo: P150SM-A, i7, RAM 16GB, nVidia 8600, 2x 1TB HDD & M.2 256 GB, MX-21 - Openbox

User avatar
colin_b
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:21 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#18 Post by colin_b »

I tried the following without success:

Code: Select all

curl -Lr1078- vvld.in/lm64 | tar xJ -C ~ --wildcards \*libffmpeg\.so --xform 's,.*/,.local/lib/opera/,'
:frown:

User avatar
handy
Posts: 611
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#19 Post by handy »

colin_b wrote: Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:30 pm I tried the following without success:

Code: Select all

curl -Lr1078- vvld.in/lm64 | tar xJ -C ~ --wildcards \*libffmpeg\.so --xform 's,.*/,.local/lib/opera/,'
:frown:
What is the output of the following cli command:

Code: Select all

ls /opt 
1_MSI: MAG B560 TORP', i5, RAM 16GB, GTX 1070 Ti 12GB, M2 238GB + USB, MX-23 Fb to Openbox
2_Lenovo: Ideapad 520S, i5, RAM 8GB, GPU i620, HDD 1TB, MX-21 - Openbox
3_Clevo: P150SM-A, i7, RAM 16GB, nVidia 8600, 2x 1TB HDD & M.2 256 GB, MX-21 - Openbox

User avatar
fehlix
Developer
Posts: 10366
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Vivaldi & H.264/MP4 (MP3 too I think) & libffmpeg.so

#20 Post by fehlix »

colin_b wrote: Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:30 pm I tried the following without success:

Code: Select all

curl -Lr1078- vvld.in/lm64 | tar xJ -C ~ --wildcards \*libffmpeg\.so --xform 's,.*/,.local/lib/opera/,'
Would this make it play for opera:

Code: Select all

sudo -v; curl -Lr1078- vvld.in/lm64 | sudo tar xJ -C / --wildcards \*libffmpeg\.so --xform 's,.*/,usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/,'
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”