Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Conky Helps and Stuff

Message
Author
User avatar
JmaCWQ
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 4:42 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#211 Post by JmaCWQ » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:35 pm

KoO wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:18 pm
To get B/s, KB/s, MB/s to read the (kb/s) need to be remove from the code like below.
Just a little more on this I never thought of yesterday.
There's actually 2 changes needed to get B/s, KB/s & MB/s to display.
The first is as you mention, the kb/s needs removing as it's only text & isn't needed after the 2nd change is made.
The 2nd change is remove the "f" from upspeedf & downspeedf parameters so they are just upspeed & downspeed.
With the f removed the rate will be displayed auto & will show either B, KiB or MiB depending on the speeds measured.

Here's that section of code again reflecting those 2 changes Image

Code: Select all

# NETWORK
${voffset -8}${font Open Sans:Bold:size=10}${color0}NETWORK ${color EC0100}${hr 3}$color
#$color${font Open Sans:bold:size=8.5}External IP ${font}${alignr}${execi 60 curl http://google.com --connect-timeout 2 | grep -o "[0-9]*\.[0-9]*\.[0-9]*\.[0-9]*"}$font
#${voffset -14}$alignc${execpi 4 echo "\${font}\${color}ping: \${font Open Sans:bold:size=8.5}\${color6}$(ping -W 1 -c 1 8.8.8.8 -q | grep rtt | egrep [0-9]+\.[0-9]+ -o | head -n 2 | tail -n 1)\${font}\${color} ms"}

${voffset -10}${font Open Sans:bold:size=8.5}Ethernet $font$alignr ${addr eth0}
↑ ${upspeed eth0}  $alignr ${totalup eth0}
${voffset -14}$alignc${upspeedgraph eth0 10,120  ff0000 0000ff}
↓ ${downspeed eth0}  $alignr ${totaldown eth0}
${voffset -14}$alignc${downspeedgraph eth0 10,120  ff0000 0000ff}

${voffset -10}${font Open Sans:bold:size=8.5}WiFi $font${wireless_bitrate wlan0} $alignr ${addr wlan0}
${voffset -14}$alignc${wireless_essid wlan0}
$alignc${color2}${wireless_link_bar 4,260 wlan0}${color E9E9E9} 
↑ ${upspeed wlan0}  $alignr ${totalup wlan0}
${voffset -14}$alignc${upspeedgraph wlan0 10,120 ff0000 0000ff}
↓ ${downspeed wlan0}  $alignr ${totaldown wlan0}
${voffset -14}$alignc${downspeedgraph wlan0 10,120 ff0000 0000ff}


User avatar
KoO
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:21 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#212 Post by KoO » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:23 pm

Just a little more on this I never thought of yesterday.
There's actually 2 changes needed to get B/s, KB/s & MB/s to display.
The first is as you mention, the kb/s needs removing as it's only text & isn't needed after the 2nd change is made.
The 2nd change is remove the "f" from upspeedf & downspeedf parameters so they are just upspeed & downspeed.
With the f removed the rate will be displayed auto & will show either B, KiB or MiB depending on the speeds measured.

Here's that section of code again reflecting those 2 changes Image
Nice work Welcome to the world of conky
AntiX 17.2 (4.19.8) i3 ,MX18-b1,Windows8.1 , Intel Xeon E3-1241 v3 , 16gb HyperX , Samsung EVO 860 500 GB , Samsung EVO 860 500 GB , GTX 970
Lenovo T430 AntiX17.2 (4.19.8) i3 ,MX18-b1,Windows8.1 , i5 +4000 , 8gb , Samsung EVO 860 500 GB , 1TB HGST

User avatar
JmaCWQ
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 4:42 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#213 Post by JmaCWQ » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:14 am

KoO wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:23 pm
Nice work Welcome to the world of conky
Thanks.
Until recently one of the first things I would do on a new install was toggle Conky to off.
Now I wouldn't run without it :p

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6232
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#214 Post by Eadwine Rose » Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:51 am

Well.. as of yesterday evening the conky thing is not showing the weather graphs anymore on the desktop, only the text. Didn't do anything with it, all is in the same spot.

*shrug* I might just let this go and start getting used to the weather app in the panel.


Code: Select all

# 2018-06-26 @male for @Eadwine Rose

own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,skip_taskbar,skip_pager,below
#own_window_colour 000000
#own_window_argb_visual yes
#own_window_argb_value 80
own_window_class Conky

minimum_size 650 220
#maximum_width 655
gap_x 25 # l|r
gap_y 225 # u|d
#alignment tl
#alignment mr
alignment top_left

use_xft yes
xftfont GE Inspira:size=9
xftalpha 1

override_utf8_locale yes

draw_shades no
default_shade_color 000000
draw_outline no
default_outline_color 000000

default_color ffffff
color1 778899
color2 FFA07A
color3 87CEFA
color4 48D1CC
color5 FFDEAD
color6 00BFFF
color7 ffffff
color8 FFD700
color9 ffffff

draw_borders no
stippled_borders 5
border_inner_margin 5
border_outer_margin 0
border_width 2
draw_graph_borders no
background no
use_spacer none
no_buffers yes
double_buffer yes

update_interval 1

lua_load ~/LUA/image.lua

TEXT
##### Start #####
${execi 6000 bash $HOME/1_accuweather/1_accuweather -f2015 -h2015}
##### Time #####
${voffset -38}${font GE Inspira:size=55}${font GE Inspira:size=18}${goto 25}Mycity$color$font
##### Date #####
${voffset -49}${font GE Inspira:size=12}${goto 300}${time %A, %d %B %Y}$font
##### Wind-Info ######
${goto 300}${font GE Inspira:size=12}Wind : ${execi 600 sed -n '5p' $HOME/1_accuweather/curr_cond} ${execi 600 sed -n '6p' $HOME/1_accuweather/curr_cond}
${goto 300}Humidity : ${execi 600 sed -n '7p' $HOME/1_accuweather/curr_cond}
${goto 300}Pressure : ${execi 600 sed -n '8p' $HOME/1_accuweather/curr_cond}
#### Stadt ####
${voffset -5}${font GE Inspira:size=14}           ${font} ${execi 600 sed -n '1p' $HOME/1_accuweather/aktualisiert}
${font}${goto 25}Current :${voffset -10}${font GE Inspira:size=18}${goto 100}${execi 600 sed -n '2p' $HOME/1_accuweather/curr_cond}°C         ${font}${goto 250}Today :${voffset -10}${font GE Inspira:size=18}${goto 325}${execi 600 sed -n '3p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°C / ${execi 600 sed -n '4p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°C
${goto 555}${voffset -124}${font ubuntu:size=11}  $font
${goto 522}${voffset 8}${font Ubuntu:size=6}  ${goto 583} $font
${goto 493}${voffset -6}${font Ubuntu:size=9}  ${goto 611} $font
${goto 486}${voffset 10}${font Ubuntu:size=6}  ${goto 618} $font
${goto 468}${voffset 5}${font Ubuntu:size=11}  ${goto 641} $font
${goto 486}${voffset 9}${font Ubuntu:size=6}  ${goto 618} 
${goto 493}${voffset 16}${font Ubuntu:size=9}  ${goto 611} $font
${goto 522}${voffset -4}${font Ubuntu:size=6}  ${goto 583} 
${goto 555}${voffset 4}${font Ubuntu:size=11}  $font
#### Showing next two hours and four days ####
${voffset -64}${goto 20}\
${goto 25}${tztime GMT-3 %H} h\
${goto 100}${tztime GMT-4 %H} h\
${goto 175}${execi 3600 echo `date --date="1 day" | awk '{print $1" "$3}'`}\
${goto 250}${execi 3600 echo `date --date="2 day" | awk '{print $1" "$3}'`}\
${goto 325}${execi 3600 echo `date --date="3 day" | awk '{print $1" "$3}'`}\
${goto 400}${execi 3600 echo `date --date="4 day" | awk '{print $1" "$3}'`}
##### Temperatures #####
${voffset 25}
${goto 20}\
${goto 25}${execi 600 sed -n '30p' $HOME/1_accuweather/hourly1}°\
${goto 100}${execi 600 sed -n '31p' $HOME/1_accuweather/hourly1}°\
${goto 175}${color9}${execi 600 sed -n '8p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}/${color7}${execi 600 sed -n '9p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}\
${goto 250}${color9}${execi 600 sed -n '13p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}/${color7}${execi 600 sed -n '14p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}\
${goto 325}${color9}${execi 600 sed -n '18p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}/${color7}${execi 600 sed -n '19p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}\
${goto 400}${color9}${execi 600 sed -n '23p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}/${color7}${execi 600 sed -n '24p' $HOME/1_accuweather/first_days}°${color}
#### Icons aktuelle Bedingungen und Wind main image h160 v8 h132 w80 rotation0 ####
${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/forecast_0.png 160 8 132 80 0}#${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/wind_0.png 465 4 190 190 0}\
#### Icons for the next two hours and four days ####
${lua fDrawImage 0 145 70 40 0}\
${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/hourly_2015/hourly_2.png 3 145 70 40 0}\
${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/hourly_2015/hourly_3.png 78 145 70 40 0}\
${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/forecast_2.png 155 145 70 40 0}\
${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/forecast_3.png 230 145 70 40 0}\
${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/forecast_4.png 305 145 70 40 0}\
${lua fDrawImage $HOME/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/forecast_5.png 380 145 70 40 0}
${voffset -800}
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17482
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#215 Post by richb » Wed Sep 26, 2018 4:35 am

*shrug* I might just let this go and start getting used to the weather app in the panel.
After my unsuccessful attempts I did just that. It is either the panel app or Accuweather website in my case.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

sunrat
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:54 pm

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#216 Post by sunrat » Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:59 am

I gave up on having wttr.in in Conky as well. It regularly would display that data requests were over limit.

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6232
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#217 Post by Eadwine Rose » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:44 am

I just went and compared with a backup I had made, turns out the images were removed from the /home/username/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/ directory, the /hourly_2015/ directory.


I saw this in the terminal:

Code: Select all

 rm: cannot remove '/home/eadwine/1_accuweather/forecast_2015/forecast_*.png': No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove '/home/eadwine/1_accuweather/hourly_2015/hourly_*.png': No such file or directory
which gave it away.


So.. for now this is fixed by simply copying the images back in.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
male
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:38 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#218 Post by male » Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:28 am

The pictures
- forecast_2015
- forecast_2016
are also missing here
2018-09-26-16-45-34_scrot.png

Cause is not yet known to me. Probably the website was changed...
The output of the font "ConkyWeather.ttf" is ok.

And, wttr.in has nothing to do with it, but that's okay too. ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Male is the capital of the Maldives and its wonderful people.

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6232
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#219 Post by Eadwine Rose » Wed Sep 26, 2018 12:50 pm

And they disappeared again.

There must be something in the code that is doing this. But yeah.. if I have to reinsert them every few hours.. no.



Edit: just put them back and set all permissions on those images to read only. Wait and see what happens.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
male
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:38 am

Re: Conky Helps and Stuff

#220 Post by male » Wed Sep 26, 2018 5:19 pm

Solution:

In the script, change 1_accuweather to "Search and Replace".
the (5) lines

Code: Select all

wget -o /dev/null -O ...
in

Code: Select all

wget -U firefox -o /dev/null -O ...
and the Conky's are working properly again.
2018-09-26-22-12-30_scrot.png

TBG made the following statement here and presented the solution.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Male is the capital of the Maldives and its wonderful people.

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”