Welcome!
Important information
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-18 Final release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.3 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

How to choose correct Nvidia drivers? [SOLVED]

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6828
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#11

Post by Eadwine Rose » Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:58 pm

Yes, that backend bit was at the very beginning.

Can you get anywhere using ctrl alt f1 after it has booted as far as it wants to go?

Does a command line interface screen show up?
MX-18_x64 20-12-2018 * 4.19.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 390.87 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
Sparky
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#12

Post by Sparky » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:03 pm

Eadwine Rose wrote:
Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:58 pm
Yes, that backend bit was at the very beginning.

Can you get anywhere using ctrl alt f1 after it has booted as far as it wants to go?

Does a command line interface screen show up?
No, it just freezes, ctl=alt F1 does nothing. No command line interface.
Should I just reinstall or is there something I can do from the Live USB?
Thank you!

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6828
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#13

Post by Eadwine Rose » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:04 pm

Ah shoot.. not what I was hoping for.

Wait a bit to see what others say.
MX-18_x64 20-12-2018 * 4.19.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 390.87 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
Sparky
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#14

Post by Sparky » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:09 pm

This laptop is giving me so much grief in Linux. If you google it, the conclusion is that I must have modprobe.blacklist=nouveau
Now should that be removed before I install the Nvidia drivers? I can't it freezes up.
The guide below ]seems to be among the better ones out there, and I tried to im0plement what it says.
https://wiki.debian.org/InstallingDebia ... 59/stretch

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 17589
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#15

Post by Stevo » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:54 pm

If you go to the Advanced options in GRUB, and then hit the "e" key, you can go up and down to the line with "splash" in it and edit that out, then start with the F10 key. It's the same line where you have to blacklist the nouveau driver.

That cuts out the splash screen and restores system messages so we can see how far it gets before it dies.

Do you have the latest BIOS installed on the machine?

User avatar
Sparky
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#16

Post by Sparky » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:58 pm

no splash found there.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 17589
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#17

Post by Stevo » Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:06 pm

This reddit thread suggests that you also need to add

Code: Select all

acpi_osi='!Windows 2015'
to the GRUB command line alongside the nouveau blacklist command.

https://www.reddit.com/r/debian/comment ... k_on_dell/

At least one user on that thread seems to have Bumblebee working.

User avatar
Sparky
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#18

Post by Sparky » Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:13 pm

Stevo wrote:
Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:06 pm
This reddit thread suggests that you also need to add

Code: Select all

acpi_osi='!Windows 2015'
to the GRUB command line alongside the nouveau blacklist command.

https://www.reddit.com/r/debian/comment ... k_on_dell/

At least one user on that thread seems to have Bumblebee working.
Holy Mother of God, it's working!
DO I need to check anything else for Nvidia drivers???\
I can't believe it booted, I have a stupid smile on my face!

User avatar
Sparky
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#19

Post by Sparky » Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:24 pm

Stevo wrote:
Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:06 pm
This reddit thread suggests that you also need to add

Code: Select all

acpi_osi='!Windows 2015'
to the GRUB command line alongside the nouveau blacklist command.

https://www.reddit.com/r/debian/comment ... k_on_dell/

At least one user on that thread seems to have Bumblebee working.
You are a Genius my friend!
How can I know If the previous attempt at the Nvidia drivers actually worked?

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 17589
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: How to choose correct Nvidia drivers?

#20

Post by Stevo » Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:20 pm

Great!

Try

Code: Select all

optirun inxi -G
and see if the Nvidia card is now doing the rendering in the last line instead of the intel one.

You can also check

Code: Select all

glxspheres64
versus

Code: Select all

optirun glxspheres64
as a sort of benchmark.

So you have to run programs with optirun for them to use the Nvidia GPU for the 3D rendering--Google Earth Pro, games like Stunt Rally, games in Wine (maybe trickier there). Since Google Earth Pro won't run now with the "intel" driver (known issue that they won't fix), I just edited the menu entry and stuck "optirun" at the beginning of the command so it always uses the Nvidia GPU.

BTW, that trick is in the Debian wiki for Bumblebee, too:
- If your laptop locks up during boot when starting the graphical display you may need to add a kernel parameter to set acpi_osi="!Windows 2015" or some variant.

This is a known ACPI problem with 2017 Dell XPS 15 and others. Refer to Bumblebee github issue #764.
I had seen that before, but forgotten all about it.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”