USB transfer speeds slow/ data needs to be written message

ronjnk

USB transfer speeds slow/ data needs to be written message

#1 Post by ronjnk »

I have a weird problem with USB thumb drives. This proiblem occurs regardless of which thumb drive I utilize. This is a relatively new MX 18 install within the last couple weeks and this is my first attempt to write to them since installation. I had no problem transferring data that was on the USB drives to my computer but writing is brutally slow. I should mention that I have had no problem reading and writing to my WD 500Gig hard drive. That's fast both ways. Read/write.

It took about 5 minutes to transfer 1 gig of data to my thumb drive. It is formatted FAT32. So I reformatted to NTFS. Transfer speed increased for the 1 gig transfer to under 15 seconds. Then I unmount and it says "There is data that needs to be written to the device before it can be removed. That process takes 5 minutes or more to complete. I have no idea what it is doing but the black message box associated with it sits prominently on the screen blocking some of the screen until it completes the unmount.

I tried to transfer 7 gigs of data to the same USB drive. It starts out transferring fast but after a few seconds, I can see it start to slow down and the calculated minutes rise. It starts at over 125 MB/s and quickly drops to 12 MB/s. The first gig transfers fast and then takes roughly 5 minutes to transfer the last 6 gigs. Then I try to unmount but it sits there for many minutes with the "writing data to the device" message. I've never seen this problem on any windows or linux I've used before. But this is a new computer. I suspect it is a settings or formatting issue. Format is msdos and NTFS or FAT32. I've used my windows laptop to reformat as well as Gparted. I've used different USB devices and different USB slots on the computer. The behavior is the same.