Page 2 of 2

Re: New motherboard and i can not login MX 17.1

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:31 am
by postcd
baldyeti wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:12 am
Just taking a wild guess here: if your keyboard and/or mouse is/are connected by USB, you may need to "enable USB legacy" in the BIOS (or disable it if you find such an option, try to toggle it)

edit: now seeing your screenshot (ata errors) and inability to manually mount, i doubt this is related to USB...
First time i launched without USB keyboard setting, but then i enabled USB keyboard in BIOS. USB keyboard worked to type in terminal and also in live session, so i see no prob. regarding this. And i also tried PS2 keyb. and seen no change.

Re: New motherboard and i can not login MX 17.1

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 2:18 pm
by timkb4cq
If Firefox is shutting down after a few minutes running from LiveUSB then there are other problems here.
If the LiveUSB runs properly before you try to mount your Linux HD partition then you might be able to get your system going. If you can't get the LiveUSB to do so then there are hardware problems that need addressing.

I will note that the processor you have installed is not on your motherboard's CPU compatibility list - given the similarities to some CPUs that are it could be OK but I wouldn't bet against it being the problem. Windows & Linux exercise the capabilities of a CPU a bit differently so it's possible to have Windows run and Linux not simply because Windows doesn't try to run a particular command that Linux does (and vice-versa).

The ATA errors indicate problems in the hard drive system. Could be a bad cable, a corrupted filesystem, a failing drive, trying to mount a drive formatted on a motherboard with sata mode set to ACHI on a motherboard with the mode set to IDE (or vice-versa).

And although it sounds unlikely, I have seen PSU issues cause these kinds of symptoms.

Re: New motherboard and i can not login MX 17.1

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:48 pm
by sunrat
postcd wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:51 pm
i replaced my motherboard to become Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R rev 1.1 socket 775
Same mobo I'm using now. Been very reliable for the past 10 years or so.
Previously it was socket 771 motherboard G31M ES2L rev. 2.0. CPU stays same, it has some reduction on it and it works after i cut some parts of the socket.
Don't think I'd be game to hack the CPU socket. Which cpu is it btw?
Liquorix with systemd not boot into login menu, but shows black screen and repeats messages like: ATA7.00 ; Failed command: READ DMA EXT ; TIMEOUT ; DRDY
I believe this is a disk read error. It's possible your HD is failing. Hopefully you have all your data backed up.
I did once change a mobo/cpu and the previous Debian system still worked. I wouldn't expect that to be always the case though, especially if the cpu is not supported by the mobo.

Re: [solved] New motherboard and i can not login MX 17.1

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:52 am
by postcd
Thank you all for the replies.

This was the problem probably:
timkb4cq wrote:
Sat Jan 05, 2019 2:18 pm
The ATA errors indicate problems in the hard drive system. Could be a bad cable, a corrupted filesystem, a failing drive, trying to mount a drive formatted on a motherboard with sata mode set to ACHI on a motherboard with the mode set to IDE (or vice-versa).
in BIOS i just switched SATA/IDE ctrl mode to AHCI and also ICH SATA control mode to AHCI. It was IDE on this new motherboard and on previous motherboard i had probably it set to AHCI when i installed MX Linux.
So apparently MXLinux is not made to work when sata control mode is changed..

And MXLinux boots now without problem. Can MXLinux developers provide some more apparent message so one understand he need to change SATA controller mode in BIOS?

Also after that the PC boot screen may be stuck at "Detecting IDE drives" kind of message. To solve it i reconnected my SATA cables from GSATA2_x ports to SATA2_x kind of ports. Maybe these GSATA (violet ones) are made only for IDE and RAID, not for AHCI.

Re: [solved] New motherboard and i can not login MX 17.1

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 8:30 am
by sunrat
It certainly helps to have all the facts. I switched mine to AHCI many years ago when I put an SSD in. SATA/IDE worked ok with HDs though.
"GSATA" is Gigabyte-speak for the ports attached to the Marvell controller which is fairly universally accepted to be garbage. I never used it.
Back up all your data anyway if you haven't yet. One day you will need it.