Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

New SSD required

Message
Author
User avatar
Fornhamfred
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:49 pm

New SSD required

#1 Post by Fornhamfred » Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:21 pm

I would like to give my machine a little extra speed with an SSD but seems as though it is not as simple as purchasing a new spinning drive. Could anyone suggest which manufacturer is best suited to linux and what changes need to be made to the system to ensure longevity and speed of the said SSD. I have read the thread about SSD trim and also loooked at the SSD optimization page in the Debian wiki(not that I understand too much).

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17507
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: New SSD required

#2 Post by richb » Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:24 pm

Samsung is a good choice. trim is automatically enabled in MX 17 so no need to do much else.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2502
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: New SSD required

#3 Post by chrispop99 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:41 pm

I was an early adopter of SSDs. They were a bit fragile, so needed some changes made.

Modern ones have better predicted reliability than spinning drives, so as Rich has said, just install it! His advice about Samsung is also spot-on, and that is the make I have been using recently.

About the only caveat is that although you might get early warning of failure with a spinning drive, SSDs will usually drop dead immediately, so it is even more important to keep any important data backed up.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
wulf
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:56 am

Re: New SSD required

#4 Post by wulf » Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:02 pm

I have no experience of other makes of SSDs, but for what it's worth, I've been running a Samsung SSD for two years and it's been faultless..

User avatar
entropyfoe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 851
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:42 am

Re: New SSD required

#5 Post by entropyfoe » Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:16 pm

I also second the Samsung recommendation. I have three from Samsung (a 256G and two 1TB) now as well as three old (32, 64, and 128 G capacity) OCZ drives. All still running.

The endurance is no longer a concern, they will out-last most other components in the machine.
Asus Prime 370X-Pro
AMD Ryzen 1600X (12 threads @ 3.6 GHz)
16 Gig DDR4 3200 (G Skill)
Nvidia -MSI GeForce GT 710 fanless
Samsung 960 NVMe SSD nvme0n1 P1-3=MX-17.1, P4=MX 18 betas
1TB SSD sda1= Data, 2TB WD =backups
on-board ethernet & sound

User avatar
PondLife
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 12:24 pm

Re: New SSD required

#6 Post by PondLife » Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:20 pm

Have used a Samsung SSD for about one year now with zero problems.

As well as the advice offered above I also left 10GB unallocated on my drive for Over-provisioning (see link), reduced swappiness to 10 and altered some browser settings (again see link).

https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/ssd

As chrispop99 said modern SSD’s are reported to be much improved so some of this might be overkill and I also found quite a lot of contradictory advice out there when looking for information on this subject.
Desktop: MX-17.1_x64 | Intel i3-4360T | 4GB RAM | Samsung 250GB SSD
Laptop: antiX-17.2 | Intel T2310 | 1GB RAM | 150GB hdd

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2407
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: New SSD required

#7 Post by fehlix » Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:30 pm

I have good experiences with Samsung and with Crucial SSD's.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4484
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: New SSD required

#8 Post by timkb4cq » Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:38 pm

I own one Crucial & two Samsung SSDs. The Samsung performed somewhat better than the (early series) Crucial but I have had no trouble with any of them.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
oops
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: New SSD required

#9 Post by oops » Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:01 pm

... An other question:
Maybe nowadays a PCIe M.2 SSD (ex; Samsung MZ-V7E500BW - 970 Evo NVMe PCIe M.2 500GB) is better than a SATA SSD, or not ?
$ inxi -Fxxxz : System: Host:XEON ... Distro: MX-18_x64 Continuum

User avatar
entropyfoe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 851
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:42 am

Re: New SSD required

#10 Post by entropyfoe » Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:16 pm

If your motherboard will take the NVMe M2, it is 3-5 times faster than the SATA. Only the newer boards have the NVMe sockets on the board.

In practice you might not see that full delta except in benchmark testing.

I have the NVMe (see sig line below) , and it is fast. hdparm (I forget if it is the -t or -T buffered or non-buffered?!?!?) give 2000-3000 MB/sec, where as the Samsung SATA is about 500MB/sec for my data drive.
Asus Prime 370X-Pro
AMD Ryzen 1600X (12 threads @ 3.6 GHz)
16 Gig DDR4 3200 (G Skill)
Nvidia -MSI GeForce GT 710 fanless
Samsung 960 NVMe SSD nvme0n1 P1-3=MX-17.1, P4=MX 18 betas
1TB SSD sda1= Data, 2TB WD =backups
on-board ethernet & sound

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”