Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
WarhawkCZ
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:35 pm

Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#1 Post by WarhawkCZ » Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:59 pm

Hello Everyone,
first, thank you for the great distribution. I am a windows refugee and MX Linux is the first distribution where I immediately felt home. I run MX linux on my Thinkpad x61 and Thinkpad t430.
My problem is that every time I dock my t430 the screen configuration changes.

My normal configuration is as follows:

Image


When I undock my computer, everything is ok. However, when I dock my laptop again, the system does not remember the configuration and screens are mirrored.


Image


The only way to solve it is to reboot the computer. Then the configuration is right again. Is this a bug or I am doing something else? I know that xfce is very lightweight and I may need a 3rd party configuration tool. However, I don't want to randomly try every single utility I found on the internet.

PS: I've just discovered printscreen functions.(MX) Linux rocks!

Thank you for any hint. Google did not help so far. :happy:
I use Google before asking dumb questions but I am new to Linux. Thank you for your patience :-)

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2347
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#2 Post by fehlix » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:02 pm

WarhawkCZ wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:59 pm
...The only way to solve it is to reboot the computer. Then the configuration is right again....
First I would make sure having installed latest xfce4-settings from mx test-repo
with help of MX package installer (MXPI). Might be this solves already your issue, as they fixed some monitor related issues.

As I do have a similar issue with one of my HDMI connected external monitors,
which is connected but does not show up, I do solve this with help of xrandr as following.
Not sure whether xrandr would fix your issue also.

First I do need manually to have both monitor connected.
Then I do check the display-names and the default and available resolution with this :

Code: Select all

xrandr -q | grep -A 5 -wE "(connected)"
which gives me this output:

Code: Select all

DVI-D-1 connected 1680x1050+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 474mm x 296mm
   1680x1050     59.95*+
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1440x900      59.90  
   1024x768      75.03    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    60.32  
--
HDMI-1 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  50.00    59.94  
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00    50.00    59.94  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1680x1050     59.88  
   1400x1050     59.95  
As I’m happy with the default resolution I do create a autostart entry with this command line:

Code: Select all

bash -c 'sleep 6;  xrandr --output HDMI-1 --off ; xrandr --output HDMI-1 --primary --auto --left-of DVI-D-1'
(or alternatively I do bind this command (without the 6 sec sleep ) to pressing key with as a keyboard short-cut.

This makes the HDMI monitor turned on available to the left of the DVI connected one.
The trick above is to turn “--off” the HDMI monitor first and then turn on again
otherwise the HDMI won’t be show up.
You might alter the above to sort out your external display issue with two monitors accordingly,
if this is of any help anyway.
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
WarhawkCZ
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#3 Post by WarhawkCZ » Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:52 pm

Thank you for your reply. I updated the package but it did not really help. It behaves slightly differently now but still does not work properly.

I will try this package https://github.com/libthinkpad/dockd first.

PS: Is it a good idea to update the rest of xfce packages from the test repo?
I use Google before asking dumb questions but I am new to Linux. Thank you for your patience :-)

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2347
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#4 Post by fehlix » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:17 pm

WarhawkCZ wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:52 pm
..Is it a good idea to update the rest of xfce packages from the test repo?
I think I have installed all xfce updates from test in most of my mx17 linux'ss.
I like esp the the new xfce-pulseaudio-plugin, which you can get into the panel.
So yes give a try, and remember to give feedback in any case about those installed from the test-repo.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
WarhawkCZ
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#5 Post by WarhawkCZ » Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:51 am

So I installed dockd package and this solved the problem. Everyone interested, go to https://thinkpads.org/repositories/. You can get a compiled package from the repo there, if you want.

I also updated xfce packages. First impressions are nah, why did I do this?. I'll keep testing and share more later. :happy:
I use Google before asking dumb questions but I am new to Linux. Thank you for your patience :-)

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2347
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#6 Post by fehlix » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:44 pm

WarhawkCZ wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:51 am
So I installed dockd package and this solved the problem. Everyone interested, go to https://thinkpads.org/repositories/. You can get a compiled package from the repo there, if you want.
If that's solves the docking station issue for thinkpads for you and as it might be for help for other too,
why not requesting from the packaging team within a new package-request post
in Package Requests/Status - MX 17
to make it available and describing the package and what would it provide.
Could you do that?
Thanks
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
WarhawkCZ
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#7 Post by WarhawkCZ » Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:37 pm

Great idea, done. :number1:
I use Google before asking dumb questions but I am new to Linux. Thank you for your patience :-)

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2347
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#8 Post by fehlix » Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:57 pm

Thanks.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
WarhawkCZ
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Thinkpad T430, Intel GPU, Docking and external monitors

#9 Post by WarhawkCZ » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:01 am

Just a quick update:

I've recently changed the docking station for the one with two display ports and USB3.0. I tried connecting my two Eizo EV2333 screens through displayport but I could not make it running at all. It may be just some general incompatibility because my x230 (i5) windows 7 machine required couple reboots to recognize and work with the screens properly.
Stick with DVI.

(integrated graphics, i7, t430).
I use Google before asking dumb questions but I am new to Linux. Thank you for your patience :-)

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”