Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Please suggest which ram should i use

Message
Author
User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Please suggest which ram should i use

#1 Post by vamsi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:30 am

My system specs are:-

Code: Select all

System:    Host: cherubim Kernel: 4.15.14-antix.1-686-smp-pae i686 bits: 32 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 
           Distro: MX-17.1_386 Horizon March 12, 2017 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: MICRO-STAR model: MS-7507 v: 1.0 serial: <root required> 
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 3.1 date: 03/01/2008 
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core2 Duo E4500 bits: 64 type: MCP 
           L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           Speed: 2200 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2200 2: 2200 
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics driver: i915 v: kernel 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: intel unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa 
           resolution: 1280x1024~75Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945G x86/MMX/SSE2 v: 2.1 Mesa 13.0.6 
Audio:     Card-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.14-antix.1-686-smp-pae 
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:1d:92:a2:a1:ee 
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 298.10 GiB used: 105.95 GiB (35.5%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD1600AABS-00PRA0 size: 149.05 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD1600AAJS-08B4A0 size: 149.05 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 39.12 GiB used: 20.99 GiB (53.7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.91 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1 
           ID-3: swap-2 size: 250.9 MiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/zram1 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 70.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A         
Info:      Processes: 180 Uptime: 15m Memory: 1.96 GiB used: 695.0 MiB (34.6%) Shell: init 
           inxi: 3.0.10 
I am now using 2gb ram i.e,(1Gb+1GB) now i want to replace it with (1GB+2GB) and this is link to the website of my motherboard https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/945GCM7F.html i couldn't come to conclusion what ram should i use .So, anybody can help me with this?

Thanks..

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2257
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#2 Post by chrispop99 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:42 am

That motherboard supports dual channel memory; performance would be compromised unless you use two identical sticks.

With the experience of two decades of building PC's for myself and others, I only use what Crucial suggest. Go to the Crucial website of the most appropriate country for you and use their list of devices to select the proper memory for your motherboard. Crucial have a no-quibble money back guarantee on compatibility.

It might not be the cheapest solution, but it's the most trouble free. RAM with minor faults is the worst sort of hardware issue to deal with!

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
antechdesigns
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:01 am

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#3 Post by antechdesigns » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:54 am

Ideally you want matched pairs of ram, so i would suggest getting 2x 2GB= 4GB
4GB is the maximum that board will take

You need:
Unbuffered DIMM 1.8 Volt DDR2 400/533/667

Try to find:
2x2GB DDR2 that runs at 1.8v @ a speed of 667 This will give you the Max upgrade performance, for that board as far as the ram is concerned

You could sell the other 2 ram sticks

Hope this helps

User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#4 Post by vamsi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:22 am

At present i am using this ram

I want to buy a 2g Ram so that it supports with this same ram ofcourse i can buy 2gb ram 2 sticks but this 1 gb ram will be wasted so any suggestions

thanks..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#5 Post by vamsi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:12 am

i searched and found in online

https://www.amazon.in/Transcend-GB-DDR2 ... B001005O14

Does it will match with my ram

Thanks..

User avatar
GuiGuy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1390
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#6 Post by GuiGuy » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:30 am

vamsi wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:22 am
.....
I want to buy a 2g Ram so that it supports with this same ram
.......
Not recommended.
Best to get a matched pair of 2g sticks.
If you must keep your existing stick, get another 1g stick to match it.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#7 Post by fehlix » Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:08 am

Just get two new idententical 2GB "DDR2 PC2-4200 533MHz 240-pin DIMM" for your "MSI (Micro-Star) Motherboard MS-7507". You shall get it in any decent memory online shop.

User avatar
GuiGuy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1390
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#8 Post by GuiGuy » Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:19 am

If you don't like Crucial price ...
https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-4GB-2-x-2G ... J#shpCntId

User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#9 Post by vamsi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:16 pm

GuiGuy wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:19 am
If you don't like Crucial price ...
https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-4GB-2-x-2G ... J#shpCntId
Yes for crucial ram's i have to pay international fare charge as i am living in other country lol it is really hard to trust ebay i have already booked one 2 gb ram from amazon will see how it will work if it don't i will return it to amazon :p :p :p

User avatar
sacules
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:15 pm

Re: Please suggest which ram should i use

#10 Post by sacules » Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:41 pm

I suggest looking in your country for Kingston ones, they're very reliable and you'd probably find them for cheap.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”