Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Broadcomm hassles :

Message
Author
User avatar
kato
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:57 am

Broadcomm hassles :

#1 Post by kato » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:41 pm

I puechased a Dell 6400 Inspiron with a Broadcomm wifi card. I installed MX17 -32 bit.according the MX tool Drivers ,it says that it has a PRO wireless 3945ABG[GOLAN]
Netgear connection[8086:4222](REV02) 03:00.0 Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0100 BASE-TX[14e4:1700](rev02).
Now my query is ,would it be worthwhile to use a USB wi-fi Dongle or change the wi-fi card for a more modern ones or try to install the driver without any internet access ,either Ethernet or wifi.
Thanks,
kato

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2366
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#2 Post by chrispop99 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:49 am

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

Broadcom chips are the work of the devil! MX Linux can usually be made to work with them however.

As a first step, read the relevant sections of the manual, and try what is suggested there. (Press Alt-F1 to access the manual, then press Ctrl-f to open the search function. Type Broadcom, then you can use the up and down arrows in the search field to go through the information there.)

If nothing there helps, post back here.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16165
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#3 Post by Stevo » Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:06 pm

From what I see from what you put there, it has an Intel wi-fi 3945 abg card, not Broadcom. The Broadcom is the wired ethernet NIC.

What does "inxi -N" show in the terminal? Intel 3945s work out of the box on MX, so if you can't get it to work, I would look for some kind of hardware or software wi-fi switch that's preventing a connection. The MX Network Assistant can help with that problem. This Ubuntu thread may also help: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1823149

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2366
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#4 Post by chrispop99 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:13 pm

Stevo wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:06 pm
From what I see from what you put there, it has an Intel wi-fi 3945 abg card, not Broadcom. The Broadcom is the wired ethernet NIC.
Doh! should have read it all!

Chances are the Broadcom driver has been blacklisted. Our Network Assistant should be able to sort that out, and at least get the wired part working.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22420
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#5 Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:19 pm

On an old machine of mine, the wired broadcom needed b44 unblocked
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16165
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#6 Post by Stevo » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:05 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:19 pm
On an old machine of mine, the wired broadcom needed b44 unblocked
Was that with both cards being Broadcom, or just the wired NIC?

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22420
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#7 Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:09 pm

Both. Wireless was a b43
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9318
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#8 Post by kmathern » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:15 pm

kato wrote:Netgear connection[8086:4222](REV02) 03:00.0 Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0100 BASE-TX[14e4:1700](rev02).
The BroadcomStartup script doesn't unblacklist the 14e4:1700 wired device, it does unblacklist a 14e4:170c device https://gitlab.com/antiX-Linux/antix-go ... artup#L166

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16165
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#9 Post by Stevo » Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:37 pm

Yes, but that shouldn't affect the Intel wi-fi device, correct?

User avatar
kato
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:57 am

Re: Broadcomm hassles :

#10 Post by kato » Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:21 am

I have tried everything that was suggested ,including the wireless card ,3945 ,b44 drivers ,but am unable to access the net as yet.
Would it be feasible to purchse a USB Wifi Dongle to see if I can access the Internet.
Thanks,
kato

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”