Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

How do I connect to WiFi with Dell XPS 15? [SOLVED]

Post Reply
Message
Author
cheapybob
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 2:28 am

How do I connect to WiFi with Dell XPS 15? [SOLVED]

#1 Post by cheapybob » Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:39 pm

I downloaded and installed MX 17 on my Dell XPS 15 yesterday.

At some point once I managed to get it to boot (UEFI droppings) something flashed on the screen in the upper right, but not for long enough to click it, and I tried the usual tricks from AntiX, but ceni and even wicd aren't found. Iwconfig says the wireless is there, but off, and not connected to anything. ifup wlan0 doesnt know what to do. I didn't find any way to scan for my router and select it.

I'm sure its something simple, but I don't see anything obvious. It was probably the window that flashed by...

Any hints?
Last edited by cheapybob on Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21806
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: How do I connect to WiFi with Dell XPS 15?

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:01 pm

Most of the hints are in the Users Manual which you should look at since MX is not antiX.

MX uses Network Manager. If you are logged in to your desktop, then click the wifi icon in the Notification Area. Or for you to that already?
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
j2mcgreg
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:04 pm

Re: How do I connect to WiFi with Dell XPS 15?

#3 Post by j2mcgreg » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:23 pm

FWIW, the wifi toggle on a Dell XPS is 'Fn' key + 'PrtScr' key. Maybe, on your rig wifi is off by default.

User avatar
rokytnji.1
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:06 pm

Re: How do I connect to WiFi with Dell XPS 15?

#4 Post by rokytnji.1 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:28 pm

Code: Select all

root@biker:/home/harry# rfkill help
Usage:	rfkill [options] command
Options:
	--version	show version (0.5-1 (Debian))
Commands:
	help
	event
	list [IDENTIFIER]
	block IDENTIFIER
	unblock IDENTIFIER
where IDENTIFIER is the index no. of an rfkill switch or one of:
	<idx> all wifi wlan bluetooth uwb ultrawideband wimax wwan gps fm nfc
root@biker:/home/harry# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
The post above mine gives you the means to unblock it if it shows blocked up. Kinda like exlax.
Need to be sudo or root in terminal to run the rfkill command

https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/use ... ion/rfkill

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21806
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: How do I connect to WiFi with Dell XPS 15?

#5 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:37 pm

Forgot this: if you are on your desktop, you can open MX Network Assistant to see status, unblock, etc. Again > Users Manual.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

cheapybob
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 2:28 am

Re: How do I connect to WiFi with Dell XPS 15?

#6 Post by cheapybob » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Yes, sorry, I had tried the manual, but it doesn't work if you aren't connected.

I forgot to mention that XPS 15 has 4K graphics on a 15" screen, so I got installed as fast as I could until I could find where to change the screen resolution, but even at 1920x1080 the icons are very small to find one if you didn't already know what they are, and I now found that if I leave the mouse hover over them a while the description popped up, and the network one just didn't look like a networking or wifi icon to me, and the network assistant wouldn't tell me what it wanted in which field, and typing network on the menu didn't help.

Anyway, I found the right icon and it brought up a different program than the network assistant, which did a scan and allowed me to select the router and type in the password, so I'm good now.

Thanks for everyone jumping in to help. Nice to meet you all.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”