Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[Solved] PC SLow after adding 1GB Ram

Message
Author
User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: PC SLow after adding 1GB Ram

#21 Post by vamsi » Wed May 30, 2018 11:49 pm

azrielle wrote:
Wed May 30, 2018 4:47 pm
Echo dropping the playback resolution to 360p or even 272p. That Intel integrated video stutters at resolutions higher than that.
I'd also recommend using PaleMoon browser.
When i used 1GB ram i used to play youtube videos of 720 60 FPS videos in chromium but now it struggles hardly when i pause the load on cores is decreasing drastically

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3255
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: PC SLow after adding 1GB Ram

#22 Post by asqwerth » Thu May 31, 2018 12:03 am

Does Youtube still have Flash videos?
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
rokytnji.1
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:06 pm

Re: PC SLow after adding 1GB Ram

#23 Post by rokytnji.1 » Thu May 31, 2018 1:43 am

Hmmm. DMI says unknown speed on ram.
But then. Mine is totally unknown . So running the below commands as root

Code: Select all

harry@biker:~
$ su
Password: 
root@biker:/home/harry# dmidecode -t 6
# dmidecode 2.12
SMBIOS 2.7 present.

root@biker:/home/harry# free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:      16318996     916124   15402872      52820      54516     458116
-/+ buffers/cache:     403492   15915504
Swap:      4095996          0    4095996
root@biker:/home/harry# 
so

Code: Select all

#inxi -zv8
<snip>
Memory:    Array-1: capacity: 16 GiB slots: 2 EC: None max module size: 8 GiB note: est. 
           Device-1: ChannelA-DIMM0 size: 8 GiB speed: 1600 MHz type: DDR3 detail: synchronous 
           bus width: 64 bits total: 64 bits manufacturer: 859B part-no: CT102464BF160B.C16 serial: <filter> 
           Device-2: ChannelB-DIMM0 size: 8 GiB speed: 1600 MHz type: DDR3 detail: synchronous 
           bus width: 64 bits total: 64 bits manufacturer: 859B part-no: CT102464BF160B.C16 serial: <filter> 
<snip>
I get better details. Like speed and such. This way might be better to see if you got mismatched ram. Since you think the ram stick slowed stuff down. But. Your top/htop readouts beg to differ that cpu is what is the main slow down culprit.

Excuse me if I am wrong. But aint each time you open a tab in a blink based browser. Like Google-Chrome. It grabs all the resources again just for that open tab?
Till nothing is left. Depending on how many tabs are open?

User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: PC SLow after adding 1GB Ram

#24 Post by vamsi » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:08 am

Problem solved i changed the ram

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”