Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

External HDD For my MX Linux

Message
Author
User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

External HDD For my MX Linux

#1 Post by vamsi » Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:43 pm

Code: Select all

System:    Host: cherubim Kernel: 4.13.0-1-686-pae i686 bits: 32 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
           Distro: MX-17_386 Horizon December 15, 2017
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: MICRO-STAR model: MS-7507 v: 1.0 serial: N/A
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: V3.1 date: 03/01/2008
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E4500 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2218 MHz 1: 2218 MHz 2: 2218 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2 ) drivers: intel (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x1024@75.02hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945G x86/MMX/SSE2 version: 2.1 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Def. Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-1-686-pae
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCIE Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:1d:92:a2:a1:ee
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 160.0GB (14.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD1600AABS size: 160.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 27G used: 20G (76%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 2.05GB used: 0.19GB (9%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 61.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 185 Uptime: 1:25 Memory: 612.3/996.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.53 
I was planning to buy a 1 TB External HDD for MX linux and these are my specs and i got
Do I need more ram to use external HDD
Do i need to configure anything in MX linux to use external HDD in amazon i had seen some HDD's and on one of them it shows that it supports LINUX MAC Windows is it like connecting Pendrive to a PC?

Any other tips before buying External HDD
Thanks..

csaenemy
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:46 pm

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#2 Post by csaenemy » Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:54 pm

This should work absolutely fine in just the same way as a flash drive, just mount using thunar. The only problem I've ever had was trying to use with raspberry pi which just resulted in the drive clicking. I had an external drive with independent power supply in the past which worked with anything.

User avatar
Gordon Cooper
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1995
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:50 pm

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#3 Post by Gordon Cooper » Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:13 pm

Have been using an external 1TB HDD for a couple of years. It has a separate power supply and mounts with thunar when i need it.
Homebrew64 bit Intel duo core 2 GB RAM, 120 GB Kingston SSD, Seagate1TB.
Primary OS : MX-17.1 64bit. Also MX17, Kubuntu14.04 & Puppy 6.3.
Dell9010, MX-17.1, Win7

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4972
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#4 Post by uncle mark » Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:13 pm

Buy something like this and use your own hard drive:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... -_-Product
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#5 Post by vamsi » Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:19 pm

Gordon Cooper wrote:Have been using an external 1TB HDD for a couple of years. It has a separate power supply and mounts with thunar when i need it.
separate power supply is it not plug and play option ?

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22420
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#6 Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:21 pm

Ha! You recommended that to me a couple of years ago for a drive I took from another machine, and it has been working very well.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
LnoyBoy
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 2:39 am

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#7 Post by LnoyBoy » Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:33 pm

If the external hard drive does not have its own power supply , it may have a
Double USB type cord. So you would need two available USB ports to plug it in.

old_guy
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 4:30 pm

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#8 Post by old_guy » Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:42 pm

vamsi the Thermaltake External Hard Drive SATA Enclosure Docking Station that uncle mark points out is a good idea, but the link goes to a USB 2 model. I would get a USB 3 model - much greater speed! I have used Thermaltake USB 3 Docking Station for awhile - they make a solid device.
Earl

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#9 Post by Mauser » Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:15 pm

RAM is not an issue. All you need is an external HDD and plug in the power and plug in the USB and it will show up automatically in Thunar. I use a 4TB External Western Digital HDD for backups from my 4TB internal Western Digital HDD.

User avatar
vamsi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: External HDD For my MX Linux

#10 Post by vamsi » Sun Dec 24, 2017 1:41 pm

Mauser wrote:RAM is not an issue. All you need is an external HDD and plug in the power and plug in the USB and it will show up automatically in Thunar. I use a 4TB External Western Digital HDD for backups from my 4TB internal Western Digital HDD.
Thanks for the reply
After searching in amazon i found these hdd's. But the biggest doubt is the first two of them in the description box it is said that DDR3 SDRAM (Particulary AdATA and WesternDigital Company Hdd's see the link 1 and 2)but i don't have that type of ram will it work (See Screenshot) and in the 3 and 4 one i haven't see such type of thing
Which one will be good among these?

1) https://goo.gl/WxCmh4

2) https://goo.gl/kkY6GN

3) https://goo.gl/i5PtrH

4) https://goo.gl/2E2gT7

Thanks..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”