Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Panel not showing on default monitor

Post Reply
User avatar
danielson
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:36 pm

Panel not showing on default monitor

#1

Post by danielson » Tue May 30, 2017 8:31 am

Have an external Dell monitor set as default to the right of an HP laptop but menu keeps showing up on the laptop.
Apps open on laptop as well.
Anyway to fix this?
Distro: MX-18 Continuum
Laptop: HP EliteBook 8460p
CPU: Dual core Intel i5-2520M.
Office: LibreOffice.
Browser: Firefox (Quantum).

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 25353
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Panel not showing on default monitor

#2

Post by Jerry3904 » Tue May 30, 2017 8:46 am

Please launch Display and show or tell us how you have it set up. (Compare image in Section 3.3.3, "Dual Monitors," of the Users Manual, along with linked Xfce document).
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
danielson
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:36 pm

Re: Panel not showing on default monitor [Solved]

#3

Post by danielson » Tue May 30, 2017 9:16 am

Setup is pretty same as that snapshot in 3.3.3 (except configure new display when connected which i leave unchecked).

Just setup panel to horizontal mode and to span monitors.
This seems to have resolved this issue. :happy:

Thanks!
Distro: MX-18 Continuum
Laptop: HP EliteBook 8460p
CPU: Dual core Intel i5-2520M.
Office: LibreOffice.
Browser: Firefox (Quantum).

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 25353
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Panel not showing on default monitor

#4

Post by Jerry3904 » Tue May 30, 2017 9:19 am

Great!
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”