Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

TV Monitor

Post Reply
User avatar
palimmo
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:43 pm

TV Monitor

#1

Post by palimmo » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:00 am

Do you have any experience with this new technology?
I would like to buy a monitor (ca. 22/24", 1080p) to be used sometimes with my laptop. At the same time it would be great to have a TV at home too (I'm not particularly interested in SmartTV).
And I have discovered that nowadays there are many TV meant to be used as PC Monitor as well and usually called TV-Monitor or Monitor-TV.
That's interesting!

Let me know if you use it!
Dai diamanti non nasce niente, dal letame nascono i fior. https://aquilone.wordpress.com/

User avatar
asinoro
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 494
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: TV Monitor

#2

Post by asinoro » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:40 am

I think any new tv for sure brand name with hdmi connection you can turn it to monitor.
If your case is solved edit [Solved] to your initial post title to help other users.
Don’t forget to Backup your system
Fix your Grub

Shay2
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:32 pm

Re: TV Monitor

#3

Post by Shay2 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 10:22 am

Brother has been using his 54 inch TV for a monitor since 2009 when I got him a VGA cable with heaver wires in it.
HDMI works good also. Just be sure to switch the internal settings to match the set up you are using.

Seeing family heirloom pictures on a 54 inch was worth the slight trouble to learn how to set it up the first time.
Now he uses it as a monitor he can read.

User avatar
palimmo
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: TV Monitor

#4

Post by palimmo » Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:38 am

A "standard" TV with HDMI input is recommendable to be used many hours a day for reading documents (like on a normal monitor)?
That's the reason why I'm asking and I am considering instead these "new" (is this a new technology?) TV-Monitor that are "apparently" meant to be used mainly as monitor with a build-in TV-tuner.
:confused:
Last edited by palimmo on Wed May 22, 2019 3:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dai diamanti non nasce niente, dal letame nascono i fior. https://aquilone.wordpress.com/

Shay2
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:32 pm

Re: TV Monitor

#5

Post by Shay2 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:15 am

Per this , seems the TV-Monitor
View amazingly immersive TV broadcasts and get some work done, all on one beautiful device. The TE310 makes multitasking a breeze as you can quickly and easily switch between using it as a PC monitor or a TV, or even view both simultaneously on a split screen. Why have two when you can do more with just one
http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/it/m ... 2E310EX/XU

Now with my eyes, the 32 would be the better choice.

User avatar
palimmo
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: TV Monitor

#6

Post by palimmo » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:15 pm

what about ppi? Apparently these are important as well...
http://www.pcworld.com/article/2924203/ ... -know.html
Dai diamanti non nasce niente, dal letame nascono i fior. https://aquilone.wordpress.com/

User avatar
AkselVerg
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:27 am

Re: TV Monitor

#7

Post by AkselVerg » Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:42 am

If you need a TV that you could use as well as a monitor, then there is essentially one option that includes two usage ideas.
-The first option is any TV with an HDMI output (what is HDMI on the wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI), which you connect to the appropriate port on your PC or laptop. By the way, instead of HDMI, you can use a normal VGA cable (link to wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VGA_connector), although using VGA quality images may be worse.
Actually, I did the following: I had a bluetooth keyboard and mouse, I put my old laptop (which I decided to use only for connecting to a TV) behind the TV screen, so that it could not be seen, connected it to the TV set with an HDMI cable and taaa-daaam - I have a PC On a huge TV. To watch TV channels on the TV remote control, you should switch to the TV output to use the computer - to the HDMI output.
Well, the second option if your TV does not have any VGA or HDMI output, then just buy it. Alternatively, you can buy a gaming monitor with both slots and HDMI and VGA (https://www.bestadvisers.co.uk/computer-monitors) to connect HDMI to the computer, and connect to VGA for example a satellite tv-set.
You can buy, by the way, used monitor or TV)
BestAdvisor - the place I write for.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 25364
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: TV Monitor

#8

Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:32 am

Welcome to the Forum, AkselVerg!
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
AkselVerg
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:27 am

Re: TV Monitor

#9

Post by AkselVerg » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:26 am

Jerry3904 wrote:Welcome to the Forum, AkselVerg!
ty :happy:
BestAdvisor - the place I write for.

User avatar
entropyfoe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:42 am

Re: TV Monitor

#10

Post by entropyfoe » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:14 pm

I use a Samsung LCD TV in my family room as a monitor on MX 15, now 16.1.

With the HDMI I was never able to get the aspect ratio right.
But using the VGA input, all looks great.
Asus Prime 370X-Pro
AMD Ryzen 1600X (12 threads @ 3.6 GHz)
16 Gig DDR4 3200 (G Skill)
Nvidia -MSI GeForce GT 710 fanless
Samsung 960 NVMe SSD nvme0n1 P1-3=MX-18, P4=antiX 19 beta2
1TB SSD sda1= Data, 2TB WD =backups
on-board ethernet & sound

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”