Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

SOLVED..Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

Help for Current Versions of MX
CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

SOLVED..Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#1

Post by CaptED71 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:19 pm

Hello Everyone..
MX-18.3 installed several days ago on a ASRock Q1900 dc...
This morning I did the updates (08/13) and did the apt autoremove then a reboot ...

So now all I have is Busy Box v1.22.1
(initramfs) as a prompt..

and I used the -help but nothing that I understood ...

So is there a way to get around this and boot up MX-18.3 ..
If needed I do have the Jump-drive that I installed from...

Please assume I know nothing about Linux...Thanks for any replies ....
Now I have Googled "initramfs" and the best I can understand is it has to do with booting... (which is the problem)

Thanks again..
Ed
Last edited by CaptED71 on Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ancient_Hermit
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 8:07 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#2

Post by Ancient_Hermit » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:18 pm

As I use the same hardware I am feeling a bit nervous about this, since I would get the updates offered to me tomorrow usually, because I am in Europe and they get updates offered later (in practical terms).

I wonder if there is a way to avoid just the one troublesome update? <shrug>

Hope someone knows about how to fix this as it sounds pretty grim. I'm not keen on ignoring updates either. :confused:

I'm using MX15, I wonder if there is any chance it will not apply in that case? :confused:
Cheers,
Ian

CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#3

Post by CaptED71 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:29 pm

Some Progress to report....

at the (initramfs) prompt: I typed "exit"...
and it reported that I should use "fsck" manually...and the fact that the /dev/sda2 had errors...

So after reading some post about fsck ...
I typed at the prompt: fsck /dev/sda2 and of course I had to press "y" alot until I found out you could replace that with "a"
Now it ran thru a very long list of errors on the drive which is a SSD 120gb..

So I rebooted and it came back to the same prompt: so I did it again....This time after a reboot MX-18.3 came up and running...

So my newest question is am I suppose to do anything else to it ..???

or do I leave it along and Mark this subject "Solved"

Ed

Ancient_Hermit
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 8:07 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#4

Post by Ancient_Hermit » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:50 pm

Well done, sounds a mess, but well done. I reckon it is not really solved though.
Cheers,
Ian

CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#5

Post by CaptED71 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:55 pm

The further I dig the deeper I get...
Just did a " sudo apt-get update "

Code: Select all

Reading package lists... Error!                                                                   
N: Skipping acquire of configured file 'main/binary-i386/Packages' as repository 'http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/deb stable InRelease' doesn't support architecture 'i386'
E: Unable to parse package file /var/lib/dpkg/status (1)
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
E: The package cache file is corrupted

User avatar
timkb4cq
Developer
Posts: 5123
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#6

Post by timkb4cq » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:10 pm

Google Earth no longer has 32bit packages available.
Please post your Quick System information (found in MX Tools)
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

Ancient_Hermit
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 8:07 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#7

Post by Ancient_Hermit » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:27 pm

Is google earth likely to be a cause?

I uninstalled it some time ago when it was becoming problematic.

Might I have dodged this stern looking bullet? :confused:

I recall Skype being a cause of trouble some time ago, now Google Earth - it's starting to look like large corporate software is probably worth avoiding if possible.

I could be reading it all wrong of course. <shrug>
Cheers,
Ian

User avatar
timkb4cq
Developer
Posts: 5123
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#8

Post by timkb4cq » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:34 pm

Google Earth is not likely to be the cause of the drive corruption, but its repository entry is causing the first error message in the last post.
The second one says the apt cache is corrupt which can be corrected by running

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get clean
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

Ancient_Hermit
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 8:07 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#9

Post by Ancient_Hermit » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:44 pm

Thanks for that, anxiety level falling a bit! ;)
Cheers,
Ian

CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

Re: Needing Help Please..(initramfs)

#10

Post by CaptED71 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:26 pm

Hello Timkb4cq

Here is the Posting from Quick System Info...

Second I tried the "sudo apt-get clean" and it seemed as if it did nothing
I did a "sudo apt-get autoclean" and it came back as "The package cache file is corrupted"

Code: Select all

System:    Host: asrock Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 6.3.0 
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: MX-18.3_x64 Continuum May 26  2019 
           base: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch) 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: Q1900DC-ITX serial: <filter> 
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: P1.70 date: 03/01/2018 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Celeron J1900 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Silvermont 
           rev: 8 L2 cache: 1024 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 15993 
           Speed: 1333 MHz min/max: 1333/2416 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1333 2: 1333 3: 1333 
           4: 1333 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display vendor: ASRock 
           driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Bay Trail v: 4.2 Mesa 18.2.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series High Definition Audio 
           vendor: ASRock driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
           Device-2: Plantronics type: USB driver: plantronics,snd-usb-audio,usbhid 
           bus ID: 1-2.1:5 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-5-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: ASRock 
           driver: r8169 v: kernel port: e000 bus ID: 03:00.0 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 111.79 GiB used: 7.41 GiB (6.6%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Kingston model: SV300S37A120G size: 111.79 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 107.29 GiB used: 7.41 GiB (6.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 2.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list 
           1: deb http://iso.mxrepo.com/antix/stretch stretch main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
           2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-earth-pro.list 
           1: deb http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list 
           1: deb http://mirrors.rit.edu/mxlinux/mx-packages/mx/repo/ stretch main non-free
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list 
Info:      Processes: 188 Uptime: 1m Memory: 15.38 GiB used: 635.4 MiB (4.0%) Init: SysVinit 
           runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 6.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.12 inxi: 3.0.33 

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”