Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[SOLVED] Need a Windows VM to start at boot time, how? Cockpit? VirtualBox?

Help for Current Versions of MX
User avatar
JayM
Qualified MX Guide
Posts: 1874
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:47 am

Re: Need a Windows VM to start at boot time, how? Cockpit? VirtualBox?

#11

Post by JayM » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:59 am

The MX Wiki has a very good page on dealing with high resolution monitors in MX.
https://mxlinux.org/wiki/hardware/high- ... -displays/
The only problem is that changing your settings for hidpi is an all-or-nothing proposition and may render the fonts and things on the 13" laptop display too big, but perhaps you can find a happy medium.
Please read How To Ask For Help and How to Break Your System.
MX User Manual: hold down ALT and press F1. Further information may be found in the MX Wiki.

User avatar
esbeeb
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:09 am

RDP feature in VirtualBox 6 doesn't work

#12

Post by esbeeb » Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:42 am

I'm trying to make an RDP connection to Virtualbox's in-built RDP server, to access my Windows 10 Home VM (which otherwise works fine), and I can't connect.

Note that Windows 10 Home does not include an RDP server itself, but Virtualbox has a built-in RDP server feature, where you connect to your localhost (the host, not the guest) on port 3389 (with, say, grdesktop, or remmina). But this feature doesn't work for me.

I've tried both grdesktop (0.23), and remmina (1.2.31.2). Neither can connect.

I know that port 3389 is listening on my localhost, when I use the command:
sudo nmap -p 3389 localhost

tcpdump also shows a little traffic on port 3389 going back and forth when I try to connect. But there are no useful error messages anywhere to be seen. Not yielded by the VMs logs themselves, nor by Reminna, nor by grdesktop.

Here's what my RDP server settings look like, for the Windows 10 VM (and the "Enable Server" checkbox is indeed checked, it's just too small to see once scaled down to 600x600):
Image

Note that the Authentication method is by default "Null", and I leave it that way. As in, I don't try supplying a username, password, or Domain.

Also Note: Virtualbox does have a forum at https://forums.virtualbox.org/
Oracle has got some sort of horrible login/sign-in service that doesn't work unless I use a VPN.
Esbeeb
MX 18.1
ASUSTeK UX330UAR, Intel UHD Graphics 620, 8GB RAM, Crucial Micron 256GB M2 SSD.

User avatar
esbeeb
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:09 am

Re: Need a Windows VM to start at boot time, how? Cockpit? VirtualBox?

#13

Post by esbeeb » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:09 am

I've made a posting on the VirtualBox forum:
https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=94296
Esbeeb
MX 18.1
ASUSTeK UX330UAR, Intel UHD Graphics 620, 8GB RAM, Crucial Micron 256GB M2 SSD.

User avatar
esbeeb
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:09 am

Re: Need a Windows VM to start at boot time, how? Cockpit? VirtualBox?

#14

Post by esbeeb » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:17 am

Here are all the packages I installed from the testing repo, BTW:
ii virtualbox 6.0.10-dfsg-1~mx17+1 amd64 x86 virtualization solution - base binaries
ii virtualbox-dkms 6.0.10-dfsg-1~mx17+1 all x86 virtualization solution - kernel module sources for dkms
ii virtualbox-ext-pack 6.0.10-1~mx17+1 all extra capabilities for VirtualBox, downloader.
ii virtualbox-guest-additions-iso 6.0.10-1~mx17+1 all guest additions iso image for VirtualBox
ii virtualbox-guest-dkms 6.0.10-dfsg-1~mx17+1 all x86 virtualization solution - guest addition module source for dkms
ii virtualbox-guest-utils 6.0.10-dfsg-1~mx17+1 amd64 x86 virtualization solution - non-X11 guest utilities
ii virtualbox-guest-x11 6.0.10-dfsg-1~mx17+1 amd64 x86 virtualization solution - X11 guest utilities
ii virtualbox-qt 6.0.10-dfsg-1~mx17+1 amd64 x86 virtualization solution - Qt based user interface
Esbeeb
MX 18.1
ASUSTeK UX330UAR, Intel UHD Graphics 620, 8GB RAM, Crucial Micron 256GB M2 SSD.

User avatar
esbeeb
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:09 am

Re: Need a Windows VM to start at boot time, how? Cockpit? VirtualBox?

#15

Post by esbeeb » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:41 am

To get my RDP server within Virtualbox 6 working properly, I re-installed Virtualbox6, but not from the MX Linux Testing Repos.

Here's how I did that:
I removed all my virtualbox6-related packages from those Testing repos, listed in previous post.

I also removed the line with reference to virtualbox within MX Tools Repo Manager, last tab ("Individual Sources"), which was in various.list.

Then I made my own /etc/apt/sources.list.d/virtualbox.list, containing:
deb https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian stretch contrib

I had to import two keys seen here:
https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads
...which is to say:
wget -q https://www.virtualbox.org/download/ora ... x_2016.asc -O- | sudo apt-key add -
wget -q https://www.virtualbox.org/download/oracle_vbox.asc -O- | sudo apt-key add -

then simply:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-6.0

Then I manually added Oracle extensions from within VirtualBox itself, in File Menu -> Preferences -> Extensions -> Plus button, added the file:
Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-6.0.10.vbox-extpack
...downloaded from here:
https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/6.0.10/

Those extensions contain the RDP server for Virtualbox (among other things). Then my Remmina RDP connection would actually work properly!
Esbeeb
MX 18.1
ASUSTeK UX330UAR, Intel UHD Graphics 620, 8GB RAM, Crucial Micron 256GB M2 SSD.

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”