Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

Help for Current Versions of MX
GNUoob
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:21 am

Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#1

Post by GNUoob » Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:46 pm

Hello,

I'm not sure the terminology resume/sleep/hibernation/whatever... but when I reopen the lid on my laptop to pickup from where I left off, I'm finding that my computer has shutdown instead of having me login again. This just started a few days ago and hadn't displayed the behavior before.

asus e203ma running...
$ uname -a
Linux mx203 4.19.0-5-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.37-2~mx17+1 (2019-05-15) x86_64 GNU/Linux


Thank you for any help you could provide.

User avatar
Pierre
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:23 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#2

Post by Pierre » Sat Jun 15, 2019 1:54 am

typically you can often get resume from sleep/hibernation..
- not an Reboot, as such - - you would have to run an script file, for that option - manually.

User avatar
JayM
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1787
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:47 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#3

Post by JayM » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:06 am

GNUoob wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:46 pm
Hello,

I'm not sure the terminology resume/sleep/hibernation/whatever... but when I reopen the lid on my laptop to pickup from where I left off, I'm finding that my computer has shutdown instead of having me login again. This just started a few days ago and hadn't displayed the behavior before.

asus e203ma running...
$ uname -a
Linux mx203 4.19.0-5-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.37-2~mx17+1 (2019-05-15) x86_64 GNU/Linux


Thank you for any help you could provide.
Please run MX Tools/Quick System Info, then right-click paste into a reply. (Quick System Info automatically copies the information to the clipboard and formats it properly for the forum so all you have to do is paste it.) Thanks.

P.S. I like your nickname. :smile:
Please read How To Ask For Help and How to Break Your System.
MX User Manual: hold down ALT and press F1. Further information may be found in the MX Wiki.

GNUoob
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:21 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#4

Post by GNUoob » Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:13 am

Thank you JayM



Copied out and pasted system info...


Code: Select all

System:    Host: mx203 Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 6.3.0 
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: MX-18.3_x64 Continuum May 26  2019 
           base: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch) 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: VivoBook 12_ASUS Laptop E203MAS_E203MA v: 1.0 
           serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: E203MAS v: 1.0 serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends 
           v: E203MAS.202 date: 04/13/2018 
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 33.5 Wh condition: 35.3/38.0 Wh (93%) model: ASUSTeK ASUS Battery 
           status: Not charging 
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Celeron N4000 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Goldmont Plus 
           rev: 1 L2 cache: 4096 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 4377 
           Speed: 796 MHz min/max: 800/2600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1225 2: 935 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel UHD Graphics 600 (Geminilake 2x6) v: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.6 
           direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:0e.0 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-5-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Intel driver: iwlwifi v: kernel port: f000 bus ID: 00:0c.0 
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 177.49 GiB used: 6.76 GiB (3.8%) 
           ID-1: /dev/mmcblk0 model: DF4064 size: 58.24 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sda type: USB model: Multiple Card Reader size: 119.25 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 54.34 GiB used: 6.68 GiB (12.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0 
           ID-2: /boot size: 487.9 MiB used: 82.9 MiB (17.0%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/mmcblk0p2 
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 2.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 36.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list 
           1: deb http://iso.mxrepo.com/antix/stretch stretch main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
           2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list 
           1: deb http://la.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/ stretch main non-free
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list 
Info:      Processes: 208 Uptime: 2m Memory: 3.68 GiB used: 841.5 MiB (22.3%) Init: SysVinit 
           runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 6.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.12 inxi: 3.0.33 

GNUoob
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:21 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#5

Post by GNUoob » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:18 am

anyone?

User avatar
JayM
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1787
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:47 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#6

Post by JayM » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:28 am

Go to Settings/Power Manager and tell us what the actions are for laptop lid both on battery and when plugged in.
Please read How To Ask For Help and How to Break Your System.
MX User Manual: hold down ALT and press F1. Further information may be found in the MX Wiki.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#7

Post by Head_on_a_Stick » Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:04 am

GNUoob wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:46 pm
This just started a few days ago and hadn't displayed the behavior before.
Kernel regression, perhaps?

Do you still experience this problem if you boot with an older kernel version?
"The state, therefore, is the most flagrant, the most cynical, and the most complete negation of humanity." — Mikhail Bakunin

GNUoob
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:21 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#8

Post by GNUoob » Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:23 pm

I'm back. I had accidentally left my laptop out of state when visiting family. Finally got it back.

Under Xfce Power Manager / Display tab

[checkbox populated] Handle display power management

_______________________________on battery______plugged in
Blank after_______________________5minutes______10minutes
Put to sleep after_________________10minutes______never
Switch off after___________________12minutes______never





Systems tab_____________________on battery______plugged in
system sleep mode:______________hibernate_______suspend
when inactive for________________never___________never

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 25353
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#9

Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:42 pm

Try changing "hibernate" to "turn off display" (wording?) or "suspend." Hibernate has been pretty flaky in our testing for a long time.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

GNUoob
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:21 am

Re: Reboot instead of resume from closed lid

#10

Post by GNUoob » Sat Jul 13, 2019 5:38 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:42 pm
Try changing "hibernate" to "turn off display" (wording?) or "suspend." Hibernate has been pretty flaky in our testing for a long time.
Thank you for the suggestion.

That didn't work either.

The only options listed are "hibernate" & "suspend".

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”