Welcome!
Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.2 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Editing FSTAB

Help for Current Versions of MX
Post Reply
User avatar
crazysquirrel
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:59 pm

Editing FSTAB

#1

Post by crazysquirrel » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:03 pm

I wanted to add in noatime to my home listing in fstab and the system refused to launch into MX. Could get to the log in screen then went into a login screen loop.
I do not need timestamps or other such things.

How can I edit fstab and get it to work? I can do it on Ubuntu, mint, etc but not this OS for some reason.

If I went to an SSD I would need additional fstab tweaks (just a regular hard drive right now).
Mx 17.1, dual boot with XP Media Center Edition 2005, core i5, 8gb ram, 2TB hybrid Seagate + other storage drives.

I need multisystem just like the one I can get for *buntu derivatives. Not the *.iso one. I am allergic to command line.

User avatar
JayM
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:47 am

Re: Editing FSTAB

#2

Post by JayM » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:33 pm

More information about your computer would be helpful. Please run Quick System Info in MX Tools then reply to this thread and do a control-v to paste your system information inside of code tags. Also please copy/paste your fstab file's contents here, inside of code tags, as well as that of your crypttab file if there is one.
OS: MX-18.2 x64. Kernel: 4.9.170-antix.1-amd64-smp x86_64. CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 2.6GHz. GPU: AMD RS780 (Radeon HD 3200). Mobo: ASRock A780GM-LE. BIOS: AMI P1.50 (5/25/2010). HDDs: Gigabyte 120GB SSD+Seagate 1TB. RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) DDR2-800

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2661
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Editing FSTAB

#3

Post by Richard » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:30 am

If I went to an SSD I would need additional fstab tweaks (just a regular hard drive right now).
No fstab tweaks needed with MX Linux.
Just install it. The tweaks needed are incorporated.
LT: MX18.2: Thinkpad T430: DualCore, Intel i5-3320M, Ivy Bridge; 8GB RAM; 4.19.0-5-amd64; 119GB SSD 840PRO, Intel Graphics-Audio-Network
NB: MX18.1, antiX17.4: AsusTek EeePC 1005HA: Intel DualCore Atom N270, 1GB RAM, 4.19.0-1-686, 150GB HDD

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19083
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Editing FSTAB

#4

Post by Stevo » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:55 am

Boot to your Live MX or another Live distro and restore from your backup of that critical system file, or get it from your Timeshift backup. Err...you did make a backup copy before fiddling with it, right? Since a typo can make your system unbootable!

If not, hopefully you can just revert what you changed.

User avatar
crazysquirrel
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:59 pm

Re: Editing FSTAB

#5

Post by crazysquirrel » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:26 pm

JayM wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:33 pm
More information about your computer would be helpful. Please run Quick System Info in MX Tools then reply to this thread and do a control-v to paste your system information inside of code tags. Also please copy/paste your fstab file's contents here, inside of code tags, as well as that of your crypttab file if there is one.
Let me do that after I R/R so as not to duplicate things.

Spent hours getting the iso's for MX 18 (both 64 bit and 32 bit) and TAILS.
Plus the drive time and the pick up special food for family and eat and and and lol

Dunno about crypttab. I do not encrypt anything. In fact I want EVERYTHING accessible from ANY computer or OS.
Got burned one time when I use a simple ext4 FS on a partition and couldn't ever access my data again once I R/R that OS.
Never again. I just won't keep things sensitive on the computer. Crypto is WORSE.
Mx 17.1, dual boot with XP Media Center Edition 2005, core i5, 8gb ram, 2TB hybrid Seagate + other storage drives.

I need multisystem just like the one I can get for *buntu derivatives. Not the *.iso one. I am allergic to command line.

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”