Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

Help for Current Versions of MX
Message
Author
arky217
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:00 pm

Re: Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

#11 Post by arky217 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:20 pm

you could use:
anydesk (not in MXPI yet) ( https://anydesk.com/ )
or those installable with MXPI;
teamviewer
1-to-1assistance
nomachine
I do personaly prefere anydesk, as it always works, with some clicks only.
:puppy:
To Fehlix:

I have been trying to use Anydesk on a number of computers
but I have run into some problems.

I have Anydesk installed on 2 of my desktops and also
on 2 desktops at a distant location.

Anydesk works between my 2 desktops and between
the 2 desktops at the distant location.

It even works from either computer at the distant location
to access either of my desktops.

However, it won't connect from either of my desktops to
either of the 2 desktops at the distant location.
It gives the error: The session has ended status: result_invalid_state

Seems odd that I can control my desktops from the distant desktops
but not the other way around.

Could this error message be caused by a firewall in the router at the distant location.

(All 4 desktops are running MX Linux 17.1 and all 4 have their computer firewalls turned on.)

arky217
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:00 pm

Re: Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

#12 Post by arky217 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:46 pm

arky217 wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:20 pm
you could use:
anydesk (not in MXPI yet) ( https://anydesk.com/ )
or those installable with MXPI;
teamviewer
1-to-1assistance
nomachine
I do personaly prefere anydesk, as it always works, with some clicks only.
:puppy:
To Fehlix:

I have been trying to use Anydesk on a number of computers
but I have run into some problems.

I have Anydesk installed on 2 of my desktops and also
on 2 desktops at a distant location.

Anydesk works between my 2 desktops and between
the 2 desktops at the distant location.

It even works from either computer at the distant location
to access either of my desktops.

However, it won't connect from either of my desktops to
either of the 2 desktops at the distant location.
It gives the error: The session has ended status: result_invalid_state

Seems odd that I can control my desktops from the distant desktops
but not the other way around.

Could this error message be caused by a firewall in the router at the distant location.

(All 4 desktops are running MX Linux 17.1 and all 4 have their computer firewalls turned on.)

(Edit: Actually, in about 1 out of every 4 or 5 tries, one of my desktops will actually
connect, but instead of the distant desktop's desktop screen, it shows just a black screen.)

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

#13 Post by fehlix » Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:12 pm

arky217 wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:46 pm
I have been trying to use Anydesk on a number of computers
but I have run into some problems.

I have Anydesk installed on 2 of my desktops and also on 2 desktops at a distant location.
Please give details, about version you installed and how you installed those exactly, on all 4 Desktops.
If you have installed with MXsnapshot, you might using multiple times the idential anydesk-ID, which will not work. :eek:

Is that for normal "attended" access or "unattended" remote access.

Probably check first all is working, if somebofy at distinct location is available to allow access.

If that than working, next step would be "unattended" with running service in backgound.
Further step, to check if reboot with LoginManager is working.
So some more information is needed...
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

arky217
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:00 pm

Re: Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

#14 Post by arky217 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:50 pm

fehlix wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:12 pm
arky217 wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:46 pm
I have been trying to use Anydesk on a number of computers
but I have run into some problems.

I have Anydesk installed on 2 of my desktops and also on 2 desktops at a distant location.
Please give details, about version you installed and how you installed those exactly, on all 4 Desktops.
If you have installed with MXsnapshot, you might using multiple times the idential anydesk-ID, which will not work. :eek:

Is that for normal "attended" access or "unattended" remote access.

Probably check first all is working, if somebofy at distinct location is available to allow access.

If that than working, next step would be "unattended" with running service in backgound.
Further step, to check if reboot with LoginManager is working.
So some more information is needed...
:puppy:

All 4 desktops are running MX Linux 17.1.
I installed Anydesk on all 4 desktops individually by downloading anydesk_4.0.0-1_amd64.deb
on each desktop and installing it.
All 4 desktops have Anydesk checked for 'allow always' and 'enable unattended access'
and the password is the same on all 4.
All 4 have Anydesk running as a service in the background.

"Further step, to check if reboot with LoginManager is working."
I have logged out and logged back in several times, if that's what you mean.
I can't try attended because when I'm home, nobody is at the remote computers,
and when I'm at the remote computers, nobody is at home.

The thing is, it works in every scenario except trying to logon to the remote computers
from the home computers.
And, as I mentioned, once out of several tries, it actually logs on but just displays
a black screen instead of the desktop.
But most of the time, it displays that message, The session has ended status: result_invalid_state,
and also sometimes it displays the message 'session timed out'.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

#15 Post by fehlix » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:34 pm

arky217 wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:50 pm
The thing is, it works in every scenario except trying to logon to the remote computers
from the home computers.
And, as I mentioned, once out of several tries, it actually logs on but just displays
a black screen instead of the desktop.
But most of the time, it displays that message, The session has ended status: result_invalid_state,
and also sometimes it displays the message 'session timed out'.
Any speciality re you network setup? Or "standard" like both sides behind firewall, nat router, fixed or flex-IP adress etc.
Somthing else .. screensaver?
OK, checking all have different anydesk-ID. But that's probably obvious.
Which you can find here /etc/anydesk/system.conf.
Actually I never started this way. But first made sure all is working with attended access and afterwards
did setup unattend access. So in mycase I had always both variants checked.
Can you try using a direct connection (at least for testing) to see if that changes something?
EDIT:
perhabs also check ~/.anydesk/system.conf or service.conf files for alternaive anydesk-ID's you might wrongly using?
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

arky217
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:00 pm

Re: Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

#16 Post by arky217 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:33 pm

After watching more closely, this is what happens when I try to connect from
my home computers to the remote computers.
(I have the password saved on each remote computer so I don't have to enter it)

I click the connect button and 1 sec. later it says 'Connected, waiting for image'.

Then 10 sec. later, it says 'Session Closed' 'The session has ended' 'Status: result_invalid_state'

This happens every time from the home computers to the remote computers.

From the remote computers to the home computers, there is no problem; works every time.

(All home and remote computers running MX Linux, 17.1)

(All have the same version of Anydesk, installed individually at each computer)

I have researched extensively, but can't find out what that error message means ('Status: result_invalid_state')

The owner of the router at the remote computers says that there is no firewall in the router's configuration,
but it seems that Anydesk can go both ways on my home router, but only out on the remote router.

Maybe the remote router doesn't have anything to do with it, but it's something common
to Anydesk being able to get through to both remote computers.

In other words, I'm stumped as to what to do to fix the problem.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Advice needed to conect two comps diverend cities

#17 Post by fehlix » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:30 am

arky217 wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:33 pm

Then 10 sec. later, it says 'Session Closed' 'The session has ended' 'Status: result_invalid_state'

This happens every time from the home computers to the remote computers.

From the remote computers to the home computers, there is no problem; works every time.

The owner of the router at the remote computers says that there is no firewall in the router's configuration,
but it seems that Anydesk can go both ways on my home router, but only out on the remote router.

Maybe the remote router doesn't have anything to do with it, but it's something common
to Anydesk being able to get through to both remote computers.
Seems to me somehow related to the settings in the remote network.

First I would change for both remote computer the local listing port of anydesk,
used for direct connections:
As 1st pc1 -> 7070 ( or any other like 7170 )
an 2nd pc2 -> 7071 ( or any other like 7171)


Than I would do a simple test:
- keep only one remote computer running, check if this work better?


Do you have fixed IP's or regularly changing IP-adresses of you router/pc's on the remote side?
Is that an router on the remote side a NAT-router? Does it have any port-forwarding rules?
(Or with other words: Is you remote IP-address you get, a private or a public IP? )
Background: Anydesk tries to establish a direct connection, if it can access the remote PC.
Even behind a NAT-router it would try direct NAT's connections with port forwading.

So either you prepare / allow direct connections, or make sure anydesk does not detect
possible direct connections.
To allow direct connection: make sure you open you firewall for that port ( e.g. 7070 or 7071 ),
if possible restrict further to the IP's of the other side, if fixed IP's are involved.
The would not reduce security, as anydesk is running/listing on that port anyway,
and would reject anything which is not an anydesk connection.

To disable direct connections: make sure you firewall blocks all incomming traffic.

There are always other potential reason, like NAT router on the remote side is somehow limited.

And also make sure you don not block any outgoing traffic anywhere to the anydesk-relay network relays.net.anydesk.com on port 80 and 443.
( dig relays.net.anydesk.com )

Potetial resetting the AnyDesk ID of the remote side might alos considered.
( removing those ~/.anydesk/service.conf /etc/anydesk/service.conf )
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”