Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Open Thunar to root broken [solved]

Help for Current Versions of MX
Message
Author
User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#31 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:26 am

richb wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:22 am
There are two right menu entries that pertain, Open as root and Ownership to root. Ownership to root causes the mayhem that ensued for you. Open as root will open thunar as root nicely with no ill effects.

It no doubt will be a subject for the dev team to attempt to make this distinction more clear and as failsafe as possible. Perhaps eliminate the ownership to root option. I am not sure why anyone would want to do that.

EDIT: I would like to see open as root remain. I use that frequently to tweak a root config file without having to log out and back in as the root user. It can also be accomplished via the terminal but not as convenient for primarily GUI users.
That's a great idea for the developers to remove the ownership to root option if they can.

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#32 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:28 am

fehlix wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:23 am
Mauser wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:13 am
I am going to file a bug report on Xfce.org on this because Thunar should do exactly what I tell it to and not cross connection causing this problem. It should have a confirmation box. I also should be able to change it back to what it was.
That's not a failure of Thunar, but made by yourself (without knowing!) :p
No, it's not. Thunar should do exactly what I tell it to do and nothing else which it didn't. I should also be able to change it back.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2064
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#33 Post by fehlix » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:29 am

Mauser wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:25 am
I was adding icons. I still should be able to change it back to what it was. Looks like I will have to re-install MX Linux.
My addtional advice and offer to you: Before you do something, where you think you need root,
better ask here, as most can be done without root. And if you get such do-this-as-root advices,
think twice.
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2064
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#34 Post by fehlix » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:45 am

Mauser wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:28 am
I should also be able to change it back.
Yes, you can to it, but you would need to learn the CLI :footinmouth:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6104
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#35 Post by Eadwine Rose » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:51 am

Or maybe login as root and change it back to the user.

But once you changed the ownership to root there is no changing it back.


If you sell your car it is no longer your car. You cannot change ownership of that car back to you. Only the person you sold it to can do that.

Seller = your username
New owner = root
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2149
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#36 Post by Richard » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:23 am

@fehlix,
Thanks for the heads-up and clarification about root.

I'm sure I have misused it and gotten into a similar state as the OP.
Removing "open as root" from my vocab.
I suppose that when root permissions are needed they will be requested. :)
MX171: Lenovo T430: Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 4.18.0-2-amd64, 119GB SSD
MX171: EeePC 1005HA: Dual Core Atom N270, 1GB RAM, 4.9.0-8-686, 150GB HDD
Thunar/Doublecmd, LibO613, Dropbox, Firefox, CherryTree, Vbox. LinuxCounter #208633

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#37 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:24 am

Eadwine Rose wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:51 am
Or maybe login as root and change it back to the user.

But once you changed the ownership to root there is no changing it back.


If you sell your car it is no longer your car. You cannot change ownership of that car back to you. Only the person you sold it to can do that.

Seller = your username
New owner = root
It wouldn't allow me to login as root after Thunar run amuck. This has nothing to do with selling a car. I didn't sell my computer or authorize it's sale. I re-installed MX Linux and it works fine. I was letting everyone have a good shot at this problem as this is the second time it happen. Thunar shouldn't have an Ownership to root in the first place. This is not a distro problem, it's an Xfce problem which I wonder if any developers from any distro was ever to remove that evil Ownership to root rubbish.

User avatar
Kruppt
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:22 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#38 Post by Kruppt » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:27 am

fehlix wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:19 am
Without knowing what else in your system is wrong, it might best to reinstall.
My strong advice: Stay away from Root esp the Thunar actions with root (change ownership and root-Thunar. As you can bork you system so easily. This actions are meant for experts only. Best remove thos from Thunar.
The only "bug" I see, is that the warning within root-Thunar is far to small and shall by much bigger :eek: !
As normal user you don't need any of those root-actions. Nearly all customizations can be done within the home directory itself, e.g icon set, new desktop-icons etc.
:puppy:
He can remove the action that changes ownership from menu if he has a problem
clicking on the wrong action/s
Edit --> Configure Custom Actions
then select the problematic action and hit the delete button.
Or am I missing something?

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#39 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:27 am

Richard wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:23 am
@fehlix,
Thanks for the heads-up and clarification about root.

I'm sure I have misused it and gotten into a similar state as the OP.
Removing "open as root" from my vocab.
I suppose that when root permissions are needed they will be requested. :)
Not remove "open as root", remove "Ownership to root" What use is "Ownership to root" when all it does is destroys the distro?

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#40 Post by asqwerth » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:28 am

richb wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:22 am
There are two right menu entries that pertain, Open as root and Ownership to root. ...
It no doubt will be a subject for the dev team to attempt to make this distinction more clear and as failsafe as possible. Perhaps eliminate the ownership to root option. I am not sure why anyone would want to do that....
Same here. The "open as root" option is pretty useful for editing root config files or - like Mauser probably did - moving icons from ~/.icons folder to /usr/share/icons.

By itself this option usually won't cause so much mayhem because the effect (the root thunar opening) is obvious.

The other option should be left to CLI chown and chmod commands.

The confusion is caused by the fact that both use menu descriptions that start with the letter "O" and have "root" in the description.

Why not just call "Open as Root" something less similar, like "ROOT THUNAR". The other one can be "Change ownership/permission". OR get rid of the 2nd option.
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”