Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Open Thunar to root broken [solved]

Help for Current Versions of MX
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Open Thunar to root broken [solved]

#1 Post by Mauser » Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:40 pm

I was going to add new icons and when I went to open Thunar to root it didn't open after entering my password but I heard it working. After it went silent I closed Thunar and tried again and it still wouldn't open to root. Opening Thunar regular works fine but not root. I had this happen earlier this year adding themes. When it happened I rebooted and ended up with a black screen with a blinking curse that time. Please don't tell me to try rebooting. Any ideas how I fix this?
Last edited by Mauser on Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2151
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#2 Post by Richard » Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:22 am

Well, that is inconvenient.
Something vital has surely changed.
If you can create a new user...open a terminal, as root,
and enter

Code: Select all

mx-user
to allow you to create a new different login.
If successful, try and see if Thunar will allow your new self to login as root.

For further assistance some additional information may be helpful in spelunking.
In a terminal, as root, enter

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxzdlop
Please post the output between code display tags, </>, which greatly improves legibility
and the possibility that more people will actually dig through the code output.
MX171: Lenovo T430: Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 4.18.0-2-amd64, 119GB SSD
MX171: EeePC 1005HA: Dual Core Atom N270, 1GB RAM, 4.9.0-8-686, 150GB HDD
Thunar/Doublecmd, LibO613, Dropbox, Firefox, CherryTree, Vbox. LinuxCounter #208633

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#3 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:33 am

The terminal will not go into root either. I might be doing something wrong because I am very bad at using the command line even with 36 years of trying to learn it. I did get this.

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxzdlop
Argument "" isn't numeric in numeric ge (>=) at /usr/local/bin/inxi line 327.
System:    Host: mauser Kernel: 4.9.0-8-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 6.3.0 
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon March 14  2018 
           base: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch) 
Machine:   Type: Desktop System: HP product: 510-p026 v: N/A serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: HP model: 81B4 v: 00 serial: <filter> UEFI [Legacy]: AMI v: F.13 
           date: 08/02/2016 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-6400T bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Skylake-S 
           rev: 3 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 17664 
           Speed: 828 MHz min/max: 800/2800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 828 2: 804 3: 808 4: 800 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 530 driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz, 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2) v: 4.5 Mesa 13.0.6 
           direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Sunrise Point-H HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 00:1f.3 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.9.0-8-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
           v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus ID: 01:00.0 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
           Device-2: Intel Wireless 3165 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel port: e000 bus ID: 02:00.0 
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter> 
           IF-ID-1: tun0 state: unknown speed: 10 Mbps duplex: full mac: N/A 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 3.64 TiB used: 1.02 TiB (28.0%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: HGST (Hitachi) model: HUS726040ALE614 size: 3.64 TiB 
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: hp PLDS model: DVDRW DU8AESH rev: 6HS3 
           dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw 
           Features: speed: 24 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes 
           rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 3.57 TiB used: 1.02 TiB (28.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 label: rootMX17 
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 12.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1 label: N/A 
Unmounted: Message: No unmounted partitions found. 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 30.0 C mobo: 27.8 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:      Processes: 252 Uptime: 9h 24m Memory: 11.60 GiB used: 4.78 GiB (41.2%) Init: SysVinit 
           runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 6.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.12 inxi: 3.0.25 

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#4 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:16 am

When I try to get into root in the terminal I get Authentication failure
even though I typed the correct password.

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2151
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#5 Post by Richard » Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:37 am

That's a curious inxi error.
Not sure whether it is significant or just an undiscovered inxi bug?

Maybe consider what you have done or were doing leading up to the Thunar problem.
Post with all the information that might be pertinent.



How to fix? My choice, the chicken way out, may be faster at getting back to a stable system.

Do you have a recent backup of all your important data? (That's a big drive.)
You might want to consider some re-partitioning suggestions.

My thoughts would be to create partitions, as follows:
sda1: 40 to 50 GB for the / partition (rootMX17) should never fill up, but YMMV.

sda2: Since you have 12 GB RAM, 12 GB swap is probably overkill, but it's a big disk.

sda3: All the rest as a data partition. ( /DATA or /data or /Data or your choice of name )
With a /DATA partition reinstalling is quick and easy, you only need to install the OS,
then connect the partitions in fstab with the MX Disk Manager to load your choices at boot.

Download the MX-171-October snapshot which has all the updates since MX-17.1 release.


If we are lucky, maybe tomorrow someone will come up with a super easy, quick fix.
MX171: Lenovo T430: Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 4.18.0-2-amd64, 119GB SSD
MX171: EeePC 1005HA: Dual Core Atom N270, 1GB RAM, 4.9.0-8-686, 150GB HDD
Thunar/Doublecmd, LibO613, Dropbox, Firefox, CherryTree, Vbox. LinuxCounter #208633

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#6 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:50 am

I have a partial backup. Last time this happened I did a re-install and all my data was still there. The MX Linux said next time to give them more of a chance. This is definitely a bug. All I was trying to do to lead up to this is open Thunar as root so I could add icons to the icons folder. I entered my password the HDD made sounds then nothing and Thunar didn't open as root. The Whisker Menu is missing all it categories except for Favorites, Recently Used, All, and MX Tools. All the rest of the categories vanished. I also checked Synaptic and MX Packager Installer don't open either. :rolleyes:

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2151
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#7 Post by Richard » Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:35 am

Sounds as if you might have more problems than just the Thunar error.

I'm using Thunar v1.6.15 --opens as root without problem.

See you tomorrow.
MX171: Lenovo T430: Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 4.18.0-2-amd64, 119GB SSD
MX171: EeePC 1005HA: Dual Core Atom N270, 1GB RAM, 4.9.0-8-686, 150GB HDD
Thunar/Doublecmd, LibO613, Dropbox, Firefox, CherryTree, Vbox. LinuxCounter #208633

User avatar
mw1649
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:17 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#8 Post by mw1649 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:01 am

Sounds to me like you may, at best, have a data corruption on the hard drive. At worst it's a mechanical issue (head crash?), meaning replacing the drive. I would run a "fsck" or look at "gsmartcontrol" in the menu.
TOSHIBA Satellite Pro C850
Distro: MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 December 2015
Dual core Intel Core i3-2350M
Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#9 Post by Mauser » Sat Nov 03, 2018 8:18 am

mw1649 wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:01 am
Sounds to me like you may, at best, have a data corruption on the hard drive. At worst it's a mechanical issue (head crash?), meaning replacing the drive. I would run a "fsck" or look at "gsmartcontrol" in the menu.
Can't be because the same exact thing happened earlier this year.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22709
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Open Thunar to root broken

#10 Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 8:29 am

This is definitely a bug.
Highly unlikely, since for all other users this command works:

Code: Select all

sudo thunar
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”