Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

No GRUB on dual boot install

Help for Current Versions of MX
Message
Author
User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22602
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

No GRUB on dual boot install

#1 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:22 am

I would like to dual boot MX with Windows 8.1. I thought this would go well, and it all seemed to: I shrank the Windows drive to create 20GB for MX, installed MX, rebooted--no GRUB. Tried again, same. Had been in Legacy, so switched to UEFI and installed again--no change. Tried to install GRUB manually into ESP, but that was rejected. Used Boot Repair from live, no change.

Gparted sees the partition and recognizes the used space where the install went.
gparted.png
Feeling buffaloed, could use some help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22602
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:27 am

Forgot to mention:

--used September snapshot
--Windows system set to Legacy boot with Secure Boot off
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1971
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#3 Post by fehlix » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:49 am

Jerry3904 wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:22 am
I would like to dual boot MX with Windows 8.1. I thought this would go well, and it all seemed to: I shrank the Windows drive to create 20GB for MX, installed MX, rebooted--no GRUB. Tried again, same. Had been in Legacy, so switched to UEFI and installed again--no change. Tried to install GRUB manually into ESP, but that was rejected. Used Boot Repair from live, no change.

Gparted sees the partition and recognizes the used space where the install went.gparted.pngFeeling buffaloed, could use some help.
As it appears you have a GPT-partition table:
To have BIOS(legacy) to boot from GPT-partition table, you need to add
a small unformated partition with the smallest size possible, which I think is 2 MB with Gparted.
I would choose something like 4 MB.
Do change partion type to biosgrub (or grub-bios ?)
Reason: GPT does not have MBR to hold grub's core.img wich is about < 1 MB size
and BIOS will only boot from GPT if you have such "helper" partition.
:puppy:
EDIT: re-run boot-repair and choose "mbr" of sda , grub will magical use the biosgrub-partition ;=)
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9531
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#4 Post by dolphin_oracle » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:54 am

What sort of machine is this?

Does windows still boot after MX install or does nothing boot.

Have you checked bios to make sure any compatibility modes are disabled when trying uefi mode.

When you went uefi dI'd windows boot?

Gpt drives do have a protected mbr area, or at least they are supposed to. Adrian and I have done a lot of testing on legacy installs on gpt partitions. We did find a few laptops that wouldn't boot, but they were all pretry old.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22602
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#5 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:07 am

Sorry, this is that Dell XPS 13 I was talking about in an earlier thread. Windows boots fine in either Legacy or EFI after the install.

Not sure about the compatibility modes thing (and not totally sure what that means) but will look around.

@fehlix: thanks for the suggestion, will hold off on trying that for now.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1971
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#6 Post by fehlix » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:20 am

Jerry3904 wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:07 am
Sorry, this is that Dell XPS 13 I was talking about in an earlier thread. Windows boots fine in either Legacy or EFI after the install.

Not sure about the compatibility modes thing (and not totally sure what that means) but will look around.

@fehlix: thanks for the suggestion, will hold off on trying that for now.
Just shrink the /dev/sda1 fat32 by about 4-6 MB at the end and do squeeze into the space the bios-grub partition.
It's always a good idea to make it easy for BIOS to find the grub-booatloader, as it needs to jumb using block numbers
to this partion and this can become an issue if this jumb is to far for good old bios functions ;=)
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
baldyeti
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#7 Post by baldyeti » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:22 am

If windows still boots, you may want to try easybcd and add a "mx-linux" entry to your MS bootloader.
I believe this would only work if you have a working grub installed to your linux root partition (sda7), though, as it chain-loads.
Of course you wouldn't be using a linux bootloader anymore, but that might still be useful as a temporary fix.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22602
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#8 Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:50 am

OK, much later I have finally managed to solve this by using grub2win and am posting from my XPS 13 with an installed MX Linux for the first time. Very exciting.

Will post a how-to later.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1971
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#9 Post by fehlix » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:18 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:50 am
OK, much later I have finally managed to solve this by using grub2win and am posting from my XPS 13 with an installed MX Linux for the first time. Very exciting.
If you want to try chainloading from Grub2Win's grub-menu into your installed MX 17,
you can use this grub-menu entry add with Grub2Win a new menu-entry and paste :

Code: Select all

# ---------------------------------
menuentry 'Chainload MX 17 Horizon' --class mx --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'grub-chaionload-mx-17-horizon' {
# ---------------------------------
   insmod part_gpt
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2

   if [ "${grub_platform}" = "efi" ]; then
      search --no-floppy --set=root --file /boot/grub/x86_64-efi/core.efi
      chainloader /boot/grub/x86_64-efi/core.efi
   else
      search --no-floppy --set=root --file /boot/grub/i386-pc/core.img
      multiboot /boot/grub/i386-pc/core.img
   fi
}
As grub2win is a full featured Grub implementation, this shall chainload into the Grub-menu on the MX 17 partition.
Actualy you can set this as first menu-entry with a timeout 0,
to chainload straight into MX 17 grub-menu.
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22602
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: No GRUB on dual boot install

#10 Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:21 pm

Thanks. I tried chainloading but couldn't get it right, so will give this a try.

MX flies on this laptop!
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”