Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Scanner Issues

Help for Current Versions of MX
Message
Author
User avatar
philmulley
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 6:38 pm

Scanner Issues

#1 Post by philmulley » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:32 am

I've been having a less than fun time with a scanner I'm trying to fix up to work with MX Linux.

I checked it was linux compatible before buying and indeed it says it is: the scanner is a Canoscan LIDE 220.

I have been fiddling around this for months with no success. I've tried with simple scan and also with SANE to no avail. I'm pretty confident I've followed instructions from all links surrounding Canon scanners and linux: with no success whatsoever. I've also tried Gscan2PDF trying all the available options: again no success.

Does anyone out there have any ideas?

Currently in simple scan the scanner does make noises like its ready to do a scan when you press the scan button: but the light never comes on and no scan ensues.

I've also tried adding

# Canon LiDE 220
usb 0x04a9 0x190f

into /etc/sane.d/genesys.conf as some suggest: but then the scanner is no longer "found" in SANE or Simple Scan
Last edited by philmulley on Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22970
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Scanner Issues

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:49 am

Some thoughts:

--Try launching it in a console and look for error messages
--Use gscan2pdf: Preferences, Scan Options tab: try switching frontends
--Do a web search on "Debian Canoscan LIDE 20" : lots of hits, including solved ones such as one that used VueScan, which launches with a click (no install) on MX-17
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2489
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Scanner Issues

#3 Post by chrispop99 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:53 am

Canon's page (at least in the UK) says it is no longer supported in Linux, although that doesn't mean it can't be made to work.

One suggestion on another forum says that it won't work if plugged into a USB3 port, but is OK in a USB2 one - something to try, perhaps?

Is it visible if you do this in a terminal?

Code: Select all

lsusb
Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
philmulley
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Scanner Issues

#4 Post by philmulley » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:58 am

Thanks so much for your reply.

Sadly: no luck with any of your suggestions: and I was hopeful about the USB3 / USB2 one!!

Very often it does not seem to be recognised at all although currently the system is "seeing" the scanner: its just not working.

lsusb does find it: "Bus 005 Device 005: ID 04a9:190f Canon, Inc."

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22970
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Scanner Issues

#5 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:01 am

Did you look at my suggestion of VueScan, above?
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2489
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Scanner Issues

#6 Post by chrispop99 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:02 am

One other thought - are you able to check with a Windows machine that it is working?

I love Canon hardware - their inkjet printers and scanners are the best, but why oh why is hardware support such a lottery? I would rather they just said they won't support Linux at all!

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
philmulley
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Scanner Issues

#7 Post by philmulley » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:07 am

Thanks for the suggestion of VueScan: I did look into that. Sadly: same result as all the other software options I've looked at: the scanner does seem to do a scan, you hear that scanning noise, and then you are presented with a scan onscreen with nothing on it!

User avatar
philmulley
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Scanner Issues

#8 Post by philmulley » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:09 am

Chris: thanks for your reply as well. Sadly: no I have no windows machines to double check with, just this one linux machine.

User avatar
stsoh
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:11 am

Re: Scanner Issues

#9 Post by stsoh » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:22 am

maybe u should enable saned for your scanner to work?
open root thunar, goto /etc/default/ and open saned file.
edit RUN=no to yes. reboot.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/SANE
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon, G41M-P33 Combo (MS-7592), Pentium E5400 (2706 MHz), 8Gb RAM (984 MT/s),
Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics, Realtek PCIe Fast RTL8101/2/6E, PCI Gigabit RTL8169 Ethernets.
Accepted Linux when i found MX-Linux in 2016.

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Scanner Issues

#10 Post by Mauser » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:37 am

In my experience Canon has been nothing but trouble no matter what operating system I used. I always had to re-install it to get to work. I hope you your case it's different that you can get it to work.

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”