Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Resolution in virtual console

Help for Current Versions of MX
Message
Author
mbooyzen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 12:34 am

Resolution in virtual console

#1 Post by mbooyzen » Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 am

Hi, tried to change the resolution in tty1-6, read hundreds of pages and failed every time
Editing /etc/default grub does not seem to make a difference

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="video=VGA-1:1024x768"
GRUB_GFXMODE="1920x1200x24"
The first line i got from linuxquestion.org
The second line was actually changed with grub customizer. I'm trying to get more into the display.
I'm on a pretty standard MX17.1 install, the cli stays at 640x480.

Thanks
Some old 2nd generation i5, 8GB ram, Nvidia GTX-1050.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 23065
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:13 am

Can you let us see your machine by pasting the output of Quick System Info back between code tags? Or by running this command in a terminal as regular user:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fz
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

mbooyzen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 12:34 am

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#3 Post by mbooyzen » Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:22 am

Sorry, using nvidia proprietary driver...

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fz
System:    Host: mx Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 
           Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon March 14, 2018 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ECS model: P67H2-A3 v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 4.6.4 date: 02/11/2011 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-2320 bits: 64 type: MCP L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           Speed: 2023 MHz min/max: 1600/3300 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1760 2: 1733 3: 1700 
           4: 1787 
Graphics:  Card-1: NVIDIA G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] driver: nvidia v: 340.106 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: nvidia resolution: 1920x1200~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2 v: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.106 
Audio:     Card-1: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-1-amd64 
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9227 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k 
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: xxxxxxxxx 
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: xxxxxxxxxx 
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1.59 TiB used: 63.22 GiB (3.9%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST31500341AS size: 1.36 TiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Seagate model: ST3250318AS size: 232.83 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 48.77 GiB used: 5.29 GiB (10.8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
           ID-2: /home size: 1.28 TiB used: 57.93 GiB (4.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 15.62 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 39.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 50 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 30% 
Info:      Processes: 199 Uptime: 2m Memory: 7.78 GiB used: 806.5 MiB (10.1%) Shell: bash 
           inxi: 3.0.10 
Some old 2nd generation i5, 8GB ram, Nvidia GTX-1050.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2432
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#4 Post by fehlix » Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:53 am

mbooyzen wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 am
Hi, tried to change the resolution in tty1-6, read hundreds of pages and failed every time
Editing /etc/default grub does not seem to make a difference

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="video=VGA-1:1024x768"
GRUB_GFXMODE="1920x1200x24"
This have made it for me to have 1024x768 in the console:

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
#GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480
#GRUB_GFXMODE=800x600
#GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1080
GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768
You might run vbeinfo to see supported resultion by your graphic card.
Within GRUB menu press "C" to get grub-cmdline and type vbeinfo + [ENTER]-key.
With an invalid gfxmode it will fallback to 640x480 or 800x600.
You might have luck with just

Code: Select all

GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1080
but better check first with vbeinfo.
:puppy:
--fehlix
EDIT: to leave grub-cmdline press ESC

EDIT2: This gives me a comfortable resolution wthin the console.
Note to set : GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

Code: Select all

GRUB_GFXMODE=1280x1024
# allow the kernel use the same resolution used by grub
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
stsoh
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:11 am

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#5 Post by stsoh » Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:20 am

open grub customizer > appearance settings > check custom resolution > select your prefer resolution and save.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon, G41M-P33 Combo (MS-7592), Pentium E5400 (2706 MHz), 8Gb RAM (984 MT/s),
Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics, Realtek PCIe Fast RTL8101/2/6E, PCI Gigabit RTL8169 Ethernets.
Accepted Linux when i found MX-Linux in 2016.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 23065
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#6 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:36 am

@stsoh: yup, that's what I do.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

mbooyzen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 12:34 am

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#7 Post by mbooyzen » Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:38 am

Thanks for the input, will try when I get home and post back.
Some old 2nd generation i5, 8GB ram, Nvidia GTX-1050.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2432
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#8 Post by fehlix » Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:28 am

I think, we headed in the wrong direction.
GRUB_GFXMODE and GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX used to influence the virtual console resolution ( the console you get with CTRL+ALT+FN1)
And GRUB_GFXMODE does it somehow with my MX Linux installation.
The right answer is related to conwidth option from within LiveBoot menu,
which I can't find right now how to apply/adjust after installation. (MX/antiX wiki?)
E.g., when you install from Live with conwidth=200 then this
resolution is later available within the virtual console too! :puppy:
--fehlix
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

mbooyzen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 12:34 am

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#9 Post by mbooyzen » Fri Jun 01, 2018 11:19 am

OK, no not that ok...

stsoh - this was done and changed the line in /etc/default/grub that now reads 'GRUB_GFXMODE="1920X1200X24"'
This is also the suggested change i get from everywhere on the internet...
The "GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=...." I got from further reading but also has no effect.

I think fehlix has the right lead. To verify this i need to see what the resolution the virtual console is currently at.
Some old 2nd generation i5, 8GB ram, Nvidia GTX-1050.

skidoo
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:56 pm

Re: Resolution in virtual console

#10 Post by skidoo » Fri Jun 01, 2018 1:33 pm

open grub customizer > appearance settings > check custom resolution > select your prefer resolution and save.
Yes, but (confusingly) immediately after displaying the boot menu and accepting input for boot parameters, grub's job is done.
A few seconds into the boot process, KMS driver takes over, overriding any selected custom grub resolution.

During init, the specified console font size and fontface are read from /etc/default/console-setup
Quite a variety of fonts are pre-installed (ref: all/console-data/filelist and all/console-setup-linux/filelist)
and to change the configured default selection, instead of hand-editing /etc/default/console-setup
debian would have us perform font selection by running a command like "setfont /usr/share/consolefonts/Lat7-Terminus28x14.psf"
or
sudo dpkg-reconfigure -plow console-setup (ref: https://sources.debian.org/src/console- ... etup.5.txt)

As a convenience, the antiX/MX init (live init, at least) recognizes a conwidth= bootline parameter.
I didn't find a wiki description to link here, but specifying conwidth=120 instructs "given the current display resolution, I want the font to be appropriately sized so that 120 character columns fill the width of the display". Choosing a larger value (e.g. 140) yields a smaller font face.
The right answer is related to conwidth option from within LiveBoot menu,
which I can't find right now how to apply/adjust after installation. (MX/antiX wiki?)
From a console prompt, we have 2 antiX/MX utilities available. Someone can followup to mention if they are also accessible via controlcentre or menu.
note: neither of these attempts to modify the actual "display resolution"
console-font-select enables selection of an alternative fontface for the console font and IIRC the selection is "remembered", per user, across sessions.
Using sudo console-width-select to set a new default width selection relieves the need to specify conwidth= bootline parameter.

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”