Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Manually move items on taskbar?

Help for Current Versions of MX
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Martok
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 8:02 am

Manually move items on taskbar?

#1 Post by Martok » Thu May 10, 2018 8:11 am

I am new to MX Linux. I installed the latest version (17.1 64 bit). I was wondering if there was a way to manually move open items in the taskbar panel?

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Manually move items on taskbar?

#2 Post by Richard » Thu May 10, 2018 8:21 am

if you mean like those open apps, the ones in the middle without labels, in my taskbar image below,
MX-taskbar.png
then, yes. (click on the image to make it visible)

Right click and hold on an icon or name,
move the mouse to just past the middle of the icon behind which you want to move the other.
Releash the mouse button.

If you have something else in mind, just ignore.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MX171 on Lenovo T430-2017: i5-3320M, 8 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-amd64, intel_pstate, 119GB SSD
MX171 on AA1(ZG5) & EeePC-1005ha: Dual Core N270, 1 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-686-pae, 150GB HDD
DC9, LibO61, Dbox, PM, FF, mPDFed, CherryT, Vbox. __ Linux Counter #208633

User avatar
Martok
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 8:02 am

Re: Manually move items on taskbar?

#3 Post by Martok » Thu May 10, 2018 8:40 am

Richard wrote:if you mean like those open apps, the ones in the middle without labels, in my taskbar image below,
MX-taskbar.pngthen, yes. (click on the image to make it visible)

Right click and hold on an icon or name,
move the mouse to just past the middle of the icon behind which you want to move the other.
Releash the mouse button.

If you have something else in mind, just ignore.
Richard, thanks for answering, but that is not what I mean. I want to rearrange the open windows in the taskbar. For instance, say I open Firefox, Thunderbird, and Terminal. It automatically sorts them in the taskbar. I like having them in a certain order. I tried dragging them, but they just go back to the same position.

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6006
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Manually move items on taskbar?

#4 Post by Eadwine Rose » Thu May 10, 2018 9:05 am

Right click the panel in an empty spot - panel - panel preferences - Items tab - click on window buttons - on the right find the edit button, and in the next screen check sorting order none in the drop down.

After that you can sort them like you want to have them.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
Martok
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 8:02 am

Re: Manually move items on taskbar?

#5 Post by Martok » Thu May 10, 2018 9:25 am

Eadwine Rose wrote:Right click the panel in an empty spot - panel - panel preferences - Items tab - click on window buttons - on the right find the edit button, and in the next screen check sorting order none in the drop down.

After that you can sort them like you want to have them.
Eadwine Rose, Thank you, that worked! I appreciate your help.

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Manually move items on taskbar?

#6 Post by Richard » Thu May 10, 2018 9:39 am

Thanks Eadwine,
I always set the Sorting Order when I install
and had forgotten that without it the icons won't move.
MX171 on Lenovo T430-2017: i5-3320M, 8 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-amd64, intel_pstate, 119GB SSD
MX171 on AA1(ZG5) & EeePC-1005ha: Dual Core N270, 1 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-686-pae, 150GB HDD
DC9, LibO61, Dbox, PM, FF, mPDFed, CherryT, Vbox. __ Linux Counter #208633

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22420
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Manually move items on taskbar?

#7 Post by Jerry3904 » Thu May 10, 2018 9:56 am

Eadwine Rose wrote:Right click the panel in an empty spot - panel - panel preferences - Items tab - click on window buttons - on the right find the edit button, and in the next screen check sorting order none in the drop down.

After that you can sort them like you want to have them.
I don't believe I ever knew that--thanks!
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6006
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Manually move items on taskbar?

#8 Post by Eadwine Rose » Thu May 10, 2018 10:47 am

UNbelievable.. you old s... hehehe ;) :)

Glad to help!
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”