Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

KFD probe failed (solved)

Help for Current Versions of MX
Message
Author
User avatar
Chivohuaxteco
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:12 pm

KFD probe failed (solved)

#1 Post by Chivohuaxteco » Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:27 pm

Kfd, kfd probe failed. I get this message when booting. Everything works flawlessly. I just would like to know if this failure can affect the system later or I just can ignore it. Thanks in advance, I'm a newbie in Linux.
Last edited by Chivohuaxteco on Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stsoh
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:11 am

Re: KFD probe failed

#2 Post by stsoh » Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:41 pm

open thunar, goto /etc/modprobe.d. and create a new file name kfd.conf.
enter 'blacklist kfd' (w/o apostrophe) > save > exit > reboot.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon, G41M-P33 Combo(MS-7592), Pentium E5400 (min/max: 1203/2700 MHz), 8Gb RAM (800 MT/s),
Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics, Realtek PCIe Fast RTL8101/2/6E, PCI Gigabit RTL8169 Ethernets.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16272
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: KFD probe failed

#3 Post by Stevo » Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:50 pm

It shouldn't break anything if you don't fix it, though. It's restricted to the 4.14 kernel:

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/56413

Probably we can blacklist it for the point release.

User avatar
Chivohuaxteco
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: KFD probe failed

#4 Post by Chivohuaxteco » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:31 pm

stsoh wrote:open thunar, goto /etc/modprobe.d. and create a new file name kfd.conf.
enter 'blacklist kfd' (w/o apostrophe) > save > exit > reboot.
Thanks. I did it but nothing happens. the message is still there.

User avatar
Chivohuaxteco
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: KFD probe failed

#5 Post by Chivohuaxteco » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:35 pm

Stevo wrote:It shouldn't break anything if you don't fix it, though. It's restricted to the 4.14 kernel:

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/56413

Probably we can blacklist it for the point release.
Thanks. I will ignore it then. Mx runs properly anyway even though the message is annoying. Is not highlighted or something but since I noticed is a failiure I wanted to know. However other distros send more errors so, I'll stay here lol

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16272
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: KFD probe failed

#6 Post by Stevo » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:45 pm

The Arch thread says the correct name of the module is amdkfd, which indeed is the name of the module I see in our 4.14 kernels.

User avatar
Chivohuaxteco
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: KFD probe failed

#7 Post by Chivohuaxteco » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:28 pm

Stevo wrote:The Arch thread says the correct name of the module is amdkfd, which indeed is the name of the module I see in our 4.14 kernels.
I solved this by downgrading the kernel to 4.9. The message disappeared.

User avatar
stsoh
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:11 am

Re: KFD probe failed

#8 Post by stsoh » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:56 am

isn't it simple to change text from kfd to amdkfd?? beside if it works, it help others solve the same problem.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon, G41M-P33 Combo(MS-7592), Pentium E5400 (min/max: 1203/2700 MHz), 8Gb RAM (800 MT/s),
Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics, Realtek PCIe Fast RTL8101/2/6E, PCI Gigabit RTL8169 Ethernets.

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9377
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: KFD probe failed

#9 Post by dolphin_oracle » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:42 am

We made some updates to desktop-defaults-xfce-mx17 last nite that should remove the message by adding the amdkfd to a blacklist file.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
Chivohuaxteco
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: KFD probe failed

#10 Post by Chivohuaxteco » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:42 pm

dolphin_oracle wrote:We made some updates to desktop-defaults-xfce-mx17 last nite that should remove the message by adding the amdkfd to a blacklist file.
great

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”