Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

disable caps lock key

Help for Current Versions of MX
Post Reply
Message
Author
penguin48
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:31 pm

disable caps lock key

#1 Post by penguin48 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:50 pm

Hello to all. This is my first post and I have spent several days looking for the answer to this. The question is seemingly a simple one, How do you disable the caps lock key in MX 17? I am not a total newbie and have run more than a dozen linux distros since my first one, Mint 15. In the distros I have used (this is my first xfce de), I have been able to go to system settings>keyboard>layout>options (or similar track) and check disable caps lock key. Not with MX 17. Maybe I'm missing something, but I have chased this around in circles so I am asking for some help here. Thanks in advance.

This is a new Lenovo Flex 5 1470. 256GB m2 ssd, second WD 250 GB sata III ssd with MX 17, (untouched windows factory install on the m2), 8B ram. intel i5 generation 7.

This is areal annoyance as other than this, MX 17 is a distro I will use. I like it a lot, but for now I am blind. Caps lock drives me nuts... :happy:

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: disable caps lock key

#2 Post by kmathern » Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:03 pm

Read this thread: viewtopic.php?f=93&t=37161, it's from a couple years ago but I think it still works.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22233
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: disable caps lock key

#3 Post by Jerry3904 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:08 pm

Check this thread on the Xfce Forum:

https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=9615
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

penguin48
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:31 pm

Re: disable caps lock key

#4 Post by penguin48 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:56 pm

OK thank you. However the first one from kmathern does not work. Too bad because it seems wicked simple too. I had found the second post by Jerry3904, but when I create the stated folder, it will not open with a text editor. Just open, or open in new window, neither of which let you enter the command. That site won't open now, so I'll go back later. Thanks again guys!

Is there some reason I can't see that xfce seems to be the only distro where you can't get into the keyboard through the settings manager and disable the caps lock? Seems if others can accomplish that why not here? Just seems strange.

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: disable caps lock key

#5 Post by kmathern » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:15 pm

penguin48 wrote:OK thank you. However the first one from kmathern does not work. Too bad because it seems wicked simple too.
That's strange, it works for me.

I said earlier "I think it still works" because I hadn't actually tried it yet with MX-17, but I just booted into a MX-17 live-session to try it and it works (also works with MX-16).

If you followed the directions in the thread I linked to you should end up with a .desktop file (I named mine "disable_caplocks") in ~/.config/autostart something like what's shown below

Code: Select all

$ cat ~/.config/autostart/disable_caplocks.desktop 
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=0.9.4
Type=Application
Name=disable_caplocks
Comment=disable the capslock key
Exec=setxkbmap -option caps:none
OnlyShowIn=XFCE;
StartupNotify=false
Terminal=false
Hidden=false

User avatar
Paul..
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:34 pm

Re: disable caps lock key

#6 Post by Paul.. » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:18 pm

If you can live with a Caps Lock and Num Lock indicator, there is a good one in the repo...very small and it works...I just installed for my 84 year old brother in law...he has an Asus laptop and has a keyboard with no LED indicator.

indicator-keylock

The indicator is in the Notification Area...and also pops up briefly when you hit the Caps Lock key as a notification in upper right of screen.

Daily: MSI 890FXA-GD70 | AMD Phenom II X6 1055T | GeForce GTX 750 Ti | 8G
Test: Thinkpad T431s | Intel i5-3437U | Intel 3rd gen Graphics | 4G

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: disable caps lock key

#7 Post by chrispop99 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:01 am

Another option might be to assign a sound to it.

In Settings-Keyboard-Application Shortcuts, click Add. Enter the following:

Code: Select all

mplayer /usr/share/sounds/Borealis/stereo/Kopete_status.ogg
then click OK. Press the Caps Lock key. You will now get a sound whenever you lock/unlock caps. You can change the sound file in the path to whatever you like; there is quite a selection in that folder.

Caveat: your sound system has to be on, with the volume at a suitable level.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

penguin48
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:31 pm

Re: disable caps lock key

#8 Post by penguin48 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:46 pm

OK, thanks a lot. issue seems resolved :happy:

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22233
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: disable caps lock key

#9 Post by Jerry3904 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:14 pm

Please return to your first post and add "Solved" to the Subject line--thanks.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”