Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[Solved] MX freezes

Help for Current Versions of MX
Post Reply
Message
Author
jsteen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:50 am

[Solved] MX freezes

#1 Post by jsteen » Tue Dec 26, 2017 7:01 am

Hello a newcomer here!
Installed MX 17 on my HP Pavilion laptop.
And I really like this distro.
Before this I was using a rolling distro, but I got tired of updating.
I had no problem installing MX 17.

I do have a little problem.
That is after login it sometimes freezes.
I just see the mousepointer, and the laptop becomes totally unresponsively.
I can only press the power button to shut it down.
It does not happen all of the the time

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxx
System:    Host: laptop Kernel: 4.13.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 6.3.0
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.31) dm: lightdm
           Distro: MX-17_x64 Horizon December 15, 2017
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Pavilion g7 Notebook PC v: 0690130000204610000620100 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 1672 v: 09.49 serial: N/A
           BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: F.42 date: 12/08/2011
           Chassis: type: 10 serial: N/A
Battery    BAT0: charge: 64.3 Wh 98.4% condition: 65.3/65.3 Wh (100%) volts: 12.5/10.8
           model: Hewlett-Packard Primary serial: N/A status: Charging
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-2450M (-MT-MCP-) arch: Sandy Bridge rev.7 cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9977
           clock speeds: min/max: 800/3100 MHz 1: 2494 MHz 2: 2494 MHz 3: 2494 MHz 4: 2494 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0126
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Seymour [Radeon HD 6400M/7400M Series]
           bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 1002:6760
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2 )
           drivers: modesetting,ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@60.01hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile
           version: 3.3 Mesa 13.0.6 (compat-v: 3.0) Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:1c20
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-1-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 1814:5390
           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCIE Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 3000 bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8136
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: ec:9a:74:61:dd:70
           Card-3: Atheros AR9271 802.11n driver: ath9k_htc usb-ID: 001-003 chip-ID: 0cf3:9271
           IF: wlan0 state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (9.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MK5076GS size: 500.1GB serial: 129AS31VS
Partition: ID-1: / size: 49G used: 4.6G (10%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /home size: 408G used: 38G (10%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 2.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 49.0C mobo: N/A gpu: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 189 Uptime: 20 min Memory: 912.9/5918.3MB
           Init: SysVinit v: 2.88 runlevel: 5 default: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121 running in xfce4-terminal) inxi: 2.3.53 

Last edited by jsteen on Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8222
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: MX freezes

#2 Post by Adrian » Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:27 am

Can you move the mouse pointer or is that frozen too?

jsteen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:50 am

Re: MX freezes

#3 Post by jsteen » Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:59 pm

I can move my mouse pointer.
Tried ctrl+alt+fkeys but nothing happens.

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8222
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: MX freezes

#4 Post by Adrian » Tue Dec 26, 2017 1:24 pm

jsteen wrote:I can move my mouse pointer.
Tried ctrl+alt+fkeys but nothing happens.
If you can move it it means is not frozen, I've seen that happening before with xscreensaver, sometime I had to enter the password blindly (sometimes Esc helped), try to disable xscreensaver and see if it's related to that.

jsteen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:50 am

Re: MX freezes

#5 Post by jsteen » Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:52 pm

Thanks for your help.
I will try this and disable xscreensaver.
Most of the time the system boots normal.
When it freezes again I will report back.
If not then I will give it some time and report that it is solved.

jsteen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:50 am

Re: MX freezes

#6 Post by jsteen » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:22 am

sadly, it did not work.
first time the system freezes, I press the power-button to shutdown.
After restart the system boot normally.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21644
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: MX freezes

#7 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:49 am

I wonder if you would do better with the proprietary driver. I see good help (including a YT video on installation] with a web search on "radeon hd 6400m/7400m series linux driver"
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

jsteen
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:50 am

Re: MX freezes

#8 Post by jsteen » Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:37 pm

Thanks for your answer.

You did put me on the right track.
I thought that my discrete gpu was disabled by default.
Before MX 17 I was using openSUSE tumbleweed, and my discrete gpu was disabled.
I checked it now and both (Intel and AMD) was in use.
I only want to use Intel so I put radeon.modeset=0 in grub.
Did a few restarts and it seems now that the system is booting normal.... no more freezes.
The only thing now is that I get a error during boot
"No UMS Support in radeon module"
But that does not seems to effect the system, everything boots and works perfect.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21644
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: MX freezes

#9 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:43 pm

That's excellent, very glad that helped!

Please return to your opening post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”