Welcome!
Important information
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.1 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

Help for Current Versions of MX
User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 24068
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#11

Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:20 am

You were just opening the scripts in featherpad?
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#12

Post by asqwerth » Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:27 am

Jerry3904 wrote:You were just opening the scripts in featherpad?
Well, my settings have Geany as my default text editor. So yes, they would open in Geany, or I would be clicking on the various subfolders contained within a particular conky, e.g. config or fonts or scripts subfolder, and then at some point, double clicking on the item in Thunar just freezes it.

Close Thunar, rinse and repeat. Again it would work ok for a while, then another freeze happens.
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 24068
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#13

Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:35 am

In Thunar Preferences > Behavior, do you actually have it set to double click?
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#14

Post by asqwerth » Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:07 am

Jerry3904 wrote:In Thunar Preferences > Behavior, do you actually have it set to double click?
Need to check when I get home.

Thunar is opening with double click. I can't recall if I inherited this behaviour from the previous MX15 settings or whether I had to change it again after my installation.

This is the first thing I change when I install MX.
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#15

Post by asqwerth » Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:08 am

Thunar's settings show Behaviour as Double-click, but I can't recall if I had to configure this after installing MX17, or this setting carried over from the previous installation of MX15.
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 24068
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#16

Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:43 am

Rats. I thought it might be set to single-click (default) and that your double-clicking was triggering the freeze.

Back to the drawing board...
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#17

Post by asqwerth » Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:31 am

I rebooted after I got home and so far it hasn't frozen, albeit I haven't been using Thunar as much as I did last night.

Let's see if it happens again.
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

1john8989
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 4:37 pm

Re: File Manager (Thunar) Freeze

#18

Post by 1john8989 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:18 pm

I'm adding this for info purposes, I don't need a fix. I'm FFR to mx-18 soon, so I don't care.

File Manager (Thunar) Freezing in a vbox guest after the last large update, previous month(?).

I did start using the default Transmission install on that same day.

The Thunar window now freezes 5-10 times during as many hours and it is getting progressively worse. It can freeze while file copy popup is open and a refresh recovers that. It can also just randomly freeze, requiring a Thunar restart.

MX-17, no tumbler, etc. from previous posts. I think it is probably(usually) a video issue.
RAM and CPU usage is well within 75%. I can run two vbox at same time on this system.

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”