Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[SOLVED!] Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

Help for Current Versions of MX
User avatar
Buck Fankers
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:06 pm

[SOLVED!] Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#1

Post by Buck Fankers » Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:32 am

[Solution is in post #10 (last post on the first page)]

I installed MX linux on friends computer, but screen resolution detected is too low and icons are way to big for his screen. I tried to change this at boot, but desired resolution does not sticks, probably current driver does not support anything higher.

Are there any options, is there any better driver we should install?

Code: Select all

System:    Host: mx Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
v: 6.3.0
            Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: MX-18.3_x64 Continuum May 26  2019
            base: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-A75M-S2V serial: 
<filter> BIOS: Award v: F6a
            date: 11/17/2011
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD A6-3670 APU with Radeon HD 
Graphics bits: 64 type: MCP
            arch: Fusion L2 cache: 4096 KiB
            flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm bogomips: 23157
            Speed: 806 MHz min/max: 800/2900 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 
806 2: 815 3: 836 4: 1334
Graphics:  Device-1: AMD BeaverCreek [Radeon HD 6530D] vendor: Gigabyte 
driver: radeon v: kernel
            bus ID: 00:01.0
            Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: ati,radeon 
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa
            resolution: 1024x768~60Hz
            OpenGL: renderer: AMD SUMO (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.19.0-5-amd64 LLVM 
7.0.0)
            v: 3.3 Mesa 18.2.6 direct render: Yes
Audio:     Device-1: AMD FCH Azalia vendor: Gigabyte driver: 
snd_hda_intel v: kernel
            bus ID: 00:14.2
            Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-5-amd64
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit 
Ethernet vendor: Gigabyte
            driver: r8169 v: kernel port: ee00 bus ID: 01:00.0
            IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 1.49 TiB used: 2.76 GiB (0.2%)
            ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Crucial model: CT120BX500SSD1 size: 
111.79 GiB
            ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: 
WD10EZEX-00KUWA0 size: 931.51 GiB
            ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Seagate model: ST3500418AS size: 
465.76 GiB
            ID-4: /dev/sdd type: USB vendor: Generic model: Flash Disk 
size: 15.24 GiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 2.64 GiB used: 7.5 MiB (0.3%) fs: overlay 
source: ERR-102
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 36.8 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 
34 C
            Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:     Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list
            1: deb http://iso.mxrepo.com/antix/stretch stretch main
            Active apt repos in: 
/etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list
            1: deb http://ftp.si.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main 
contrib non-free
            Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list
            1: deb http://ftp.si.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib 
non-free
            2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main 
contrib non-free
            Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
            1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ 
stable main
            Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list
            1: deb 
https://ftp.arnes.si/mirrors/mxlinux/packages/mx/repo/ stretch main 
non-free
            No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list
Info:      Processes: 192 Uptime: 2m Memory: 3.36 GiB used: 475.6 MiB 
(13.8%) Init: SysVinit
            runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 6.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.12 
inxi: 3.0.33
Last edited by Buck Fankers on Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#2

Post by Head_on_a_Stick » Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:54 am

Buck Fankers wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:32 am
I tried to change this at boot, but desired resolution does not sticks
You can use an X.org configuration file to set the desired resolution permanently, for example:

Code: Select all

# /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-resolution.conf
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Monitor "VGA1"
   DefaultDepth 24
   SubSection "Display"
      Modes "1920x1080_60.00"
   EndSubSection
EndSection
Use the xrandr command to find the correct Monitor value (it will be the one marked as "connected") and select the desired Mode from the given list.
"Direct action is the logical, consistent method of anarchism." — Emma Goldman

User avatar
Buck Fankers
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:06 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#3

Post by Buck Fankers » Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:02 am

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:54 am
You can use an X.org configuration file to set the desired resolution permanently, for example:

Code: Select all

# /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-resolution.conf
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Monitor "VGA1"
   DefaultDepth 24
   SubSection "Display"
      Modes "1920x1080_60.00"
   EndSubSection
EndSection
Use the xrandr command to find the correct Monitor value (it will be the one marked as "connected") and select the desired Mode from the given list.
That is a nice tip, thank you!
I will try it and let you know if it works or not.

User avatar
Buck Fankers
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:06 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#4

Post by Buck Fankers » Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:48 pm

Finally got around to try that computer at my friend. It didn't work.
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:54 am

You can use an X.org configuration file to set the desired resolution permanently, for example:

Code: Select all

# /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-resolution.conf
Use the xrandr command to find the correct Monitor value (it will be the one marked as "connected") and select the desired Mode from the given list.
'xrandr' command returned the same resolution as system sets it up, too low.
And there is no file: /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-resolution.conf I tried also on mine computer and I don't have it either. Unless you meant I should create one with parameters you posted?

I have a question. If I run live MX from USB stick, there is in boot menu this entry: "Virtual Box Video" if I choose that one it boots in acceptable resolution. That one would work even as graphic card and monitor supports higher one. But this one would work. The problem is, when is MX installed, there is no "Virtual Box Video" menu entry available. Do you happen to know, how to get it on installed system?

User avatar
fehlix
Developer
Posts: 4942
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#5

Post by fehlix » Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:31 pm

Buck Fankers wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:48 pm
'xrandr' command returned the same resolution as system sets it up, too low.
Suggest, you post the output of the xrandr command here, and tell us what the desired resolution is.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Buck Fankers
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:06 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#6

Post by Buck Fankers » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:25 am

fehlix wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:31 pm
Buck Fankers wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:48 pm
'xrandr' command returned the same resolution as system sets it up, too low.
Suggest, you post the output of the xrandr command here, and tell us what the desired resolution is.
Ups I'm sorry, I did copy/paste and save this info and I forgot I did. Here is xrandr:

Code: Select all

$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-0 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
0mm x 0mm
    1024x768      60.00*
    800x600       60.32    56.25
    848x480       60.00
    640x480       59.94
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
He would like to get resolution: 1280x1024 (card and monitor should support higher resolutions but this one would work)

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#7

Post by Head_on_a_Stick » Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:48 am

Buck Fankers wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:48 pm
'xrandr' command returned the same resolution as system sets it up, too low.
And there is no file: /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-resolution.conf I tried also on mine computer and I don't have it either. Unless you meant I should create one with parameters you posted?
Yes, I meant that you should create it yourself but that would only work if xrandr listed your desired mode, which it does not.

If this was a Debian system I would ask if you have installed the non-free firmware required by AMD cards but MX Linux does that for you so this problem might be caused by an incorrect EDID signal from your monitor.

You can try to fix this by adding a custom modeline, instructions here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xr ... esolutions

And then add the custom mode to the X.org configuration file, as described here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xr ... esolutions

Post back if you need more help with this.
"Direct action is the logical, consistent method of anarchism." — Emma Goldman

User avatar
Buck Fankers
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:06 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#8

Post by Buck Fankers » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:15 am

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:48 am

You can try to fix this by adding a custom modeline, instructions here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xr ... esolutions

And then add the custom mode to the X.org configuration file, as described here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xr ... esolutions

Post back if you need more help with this.
Thanks for the links and help.
Will take few days to a week to see that computer again. Will post either way how it went

User avatar
Buck Fankers
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:06 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#9

Post by Buck Fankers » Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:03 am

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:48 am

You can try to fix this by adding a custom modeline, instructions here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xr ... esolutions

And then add the custom mode to the X.org configuration file, as described here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xr ... esolutions

Post back if you need more help with this.
I was suppose to meet with him today but something come along and we had to reschedule for one week later.

In the mean time I do have one question if you happen to know, live MX has entry in boot menu: "Virtual Box Video" If he chooses this menu entry he gets screen resolution that is OK. Would you happen to know how to get this boot menu entry on installed system?

I will also open another thread just for this question. But since we are on topic I thought to ask you separately also.

User avatar
fehlix
Developer
Posts: 4942
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Wrong, too low screen resolution - Radeon HD 6530D

#10

Post by fehlix » Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:47 am

Buck Fankers wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:03 am
In the mean time I do have one question if you happen to know, live MX has entry in boot menu: "Virtual Box Video" If he chooses this menu entry he gets screen resolution that is OK. Would you happen to know how to get this boot menu entry on installed system?
It's actualy meant to be running with a live system, but you can check whether the used video parameter works for you within the installed system by adding the video boot paramter:
For one-time testing :
Press E for Edit with the GRUB menu
navigate with arrow keys to the line starting with linux and add at the end
of that line space separated the parameter:
video=1920x1080

For permanent adding to the GRUB-menu:
Open MX Boot Options and add the video parameter to the kernel/boot options field.
With some luck it might work :lipsrsealed:
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”