Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Does 32bit use less ram ?

Help for Current Versions of MX
Post Reply
User avatar
Yellowhoney
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:36 am

Does 32bit use less ram ?

#1

Post by Yellowhoney » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:45 pm

Does 32bit use less ram ?

Ive read that lubuntu use less ram if you use the 32bit
2007 20* Imac running 3gb MX18.3
i5 4670k 16gb ram

skidoo
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1420
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:56 pm

Re: Does 32bit use less ram ?

#2

Post by skidoo » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:56 pm


User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19345
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Does 32bit use less ram ?

#3

Post by Stevo » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:59 pm

Generally, about 20% less. This is confirmed by the Conky screenshots of MX 32-bit vs 64-bit at first boot, without any changes.

User avatar
oops
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 729
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: Does 32bit use less ram ?

#4

Post by oops » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:19 am

Yellowhoney wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:45 pm
Does 32bit use less ram ?

Ive read that lubuntu use less ram if you use the 32bit
... Mostly depends of the kernel version here. so about 20% less but with the same kernel version.
$ inxi -Fxxxz : System: Host:XEON ... Distro: MX-18_x64 Continuum

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: Does 32bit use less ram ?

#5

Post by Head_on_a_Stick » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:45 am

Yellowhoney wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:45 pm
Does 32bit use less ram ?
Yes, no application can use more than 4GiB (even with a PAE kernel) so that should save you some memory.

Off topic for this thread but I wouldn't advise using a 32-bit operating system if your machine is 64-bit because it will be slower and less secure.

User avatar
Yellowhoney
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:36 am

Re: Does 32bit use less ram ?

#6

Post by Yellowhoney » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:03 am

so Ive heard that some program like chrome don't maintain or build 32bit any more ( mainly windows ) would it be better to run MX Linux 32 vs 64 on an old 64bit PC with only 1>4gb ram?
would the decrease in program speed (64bit program) run slower then always running out or ram ?
2007 20* Imac running 3gb MX18.3
i5 4670k 16gb ram

User avatar
handy
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 280
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: Does 32bit use less ram ?

#7

Post by handy » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:08 am

I've got antiX on an old twin core celeron 1600Mhz, 4GB RAM. It runs OK (beats the pants of my Pi3b+).
Clevo N'book (2014): P150SM-A
CPU: i7-4810MQ (Haswell) Speed: 2800/3800 MHz
RAM: 16 GiB 1600 MHz DDR3
GPU-1: i915
GPU-2: NVIDIA GK104M [GeForce GTX 880M] vRAM: 8GB 2500 Mhz DDR5
Storage: TOSHIBA 931.51 GiB. HGST 931.51 GiB. Crucial 223.57 GiB (M.2 SSD)

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: Does 32bit use less ram ?

#8

Post by Head_on_a_Stick » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:54 am

Yellowhoney wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:03 am
would the decrease in program speed (64bit program) run slower then always running out or ram ?
I don't think the RAM savings would amount to much if you're running a heavyweight browser so I would still recommend 64-bit but you should probably experiment with the live images to find out for yourself.

See https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page= ... 3264&num=1 for some objective benchmarks.

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”