Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Hibernation swap size

Topics relating to MX Docs and MX Videos
Post Reply
User avatar
chrispop99
Global Moderator
Posts: 3108
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Hibernation swap size

#1

Post by chrispop99 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:42 pm

Sorry to jump the gun with the revision to the manual taking place in sections, but I wanted to post this whilst I remembered.

IMHO our advice in the manual about swap size when using hibernation is inadequate. The link below contains a chart which perhaps we might adopt?

https://itsfoss.com/swap-size/

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19484
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Hibernation swap size

#2

Post by richb » Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:47 pm

Those recommendations seem excessive to me. But as the author of that article says opinions abound.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
chrispop99
Global Moderator
Posts: 3108
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Hibernation swap size

#3

Post by chrispop99 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:03 pm

richb wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:47 pm
Those recommendations seem excessive to me. But as the author of that article says opinions abound.
They seem a lot, certainly, but most users run with at least 4GB RAM, and our manual currently suggests something for hibernation on the order of 2GB. I would consider that to be very marginal; when running with a lot of browser tabs open, I get pretty close to 4GB RAM.

My comments here are prompted by a Facebook user with an encrypted install that fails to recover from hibernation with the pre-set 2GB RAM.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19484
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Hibernation swap size

#4

Post by richb » Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:15 pm

I agree 2 GB is too low. The wiki says 1-1.5 times the size of installed memory. And MX Tweak>Other says swap should >= Ram. So we have conflicts.
As I recall the Installer when specifying install to complete disk defaults to 2 GB. That is too low. I installed to complete disk and have 2 GB swap. On my machine with 16 GB RAM I average around 3.5 Gig consumed so cannot hibernate if I wanted to.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Stevo
Developer
Posts: 20158
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Hibernation swap size

#5

Post by Stevo » Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:36 pm

Doesn't hibernation compress the RAM image before writing it to the disk? If not by default, that can certainly be enabled when you run

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure uswsusp
plus it speeds up the read and write or the image.

There is also a setting for maximum image size, but hibernation will exceed it if it has to. The help hints are quite useful. I found that increasing this to 2000000000 bytes (2 GB) on my 16 GB system seems to get rid of the sometimes slow save and restore process...but I usually close down apps until I get below 1 GB RAM used before hibernating anyway, though sometimes I've forgotten and left heavy browsers running.

Did that facebook user get hibernation working if they increased the swap size? That's critical missing data. It just doesn't work on some machines no matter what you do.

User avatar
Gordon Cooper
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 2399
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:50 pm

Re: Hibernation swap size

#6

Post by Gordon Cooper » Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:46 pm

Chris You have only beaten the gun by a couple of days and this thread may well continue into next week.

I very rarely user hibernation but agree that 2 gb swap may be inadequate for the ever increasing size of memory and the temptation to
resultant temptation to work with many tabs open.
Backup: Dell9010, MX-18.2, Win7, 120 SSD, WD 232GIB HD, 4GB RAM
Primary :Homebrew64 bit Intel duo core 2 GB RAM, 120 GB Kingston SSD, Seagate1TB.
MX-18.2 64bit. Also MX17, Kubuntu14.04 & Puppy 6.3.

Post Reply

Return to “Documentation and videos”