PRINTER getting some info from it

Topics relating to MX Docs and MX Videos
aus9

PRINTER getting some info from it

#1 Post by aus9 »

Preamble
###################################################################################
PLEASE DO NOT REPLY TO THIS THREAD IF YOU NEED HELP.
Start a new thread and report your log and other relevant info to your thread please.
Also this post is in documentation so your post belongs in other sub-forums.

I have no problem with experienced printer users adding more tips or doing so by pm for shy members
.....but do not use this post for you to ask help or I will ask you to stand in the naughty corner!

The whisker menu has various options to trouble shoot your printer. Although you can use it, I prefer my way as it eliminates one graphical interface to trouble shoot.
To explain that in case I upset the team, I mean this
----whisker menu -> Print Settings -> click on your printer -> press F1 to trouble shoot -> click on forward.....and so on
IMHO too many clicks and our members may still not understand what to expect, what to configure etc.

THIS POST IS NOT MEANT TO ACT AS A SET UP HOWTO, they should be links as there are many printers etc

Credits me
your member name

##############################################################################
There are 2 main types of printers USB lead and wireless.

From time to time some people report they can not print. Or it prints poorly etc.

Lets try some ways to get some info from the printer that you might include in your posts seeking help?

some wireless and USB issues can be discussed in this post and others need separate posts below

1) First is CUPS running?

open a web browser and go to this page
---this may not work for those who have set up certain wireless static ips

http://localhost:631/

If that page says can not connect.....check your CUPS daemon (service) is running

open a terminal as local user and run

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/cups status